Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> DS Racing Winslot Software, Any Users out there?
Pendleslot
post 12 Jun 2009, 09:30
Post #1


Team Owner
********


Group: Retailers
Posts: 1,384
Joined: 18-September 03
From: Pendle Slot Racing, Unit 49 Churchill Way, Nelson, Lancashire, BB9 6RT, England
Member No.: 16



We have recently installed DS timing equipment to our new 6 lane club track and will be running DS Winslot Software. Whilst our initial impressions of this have been very favourable there are one or two slight issues with the software which i'm sure can be easily resolved with the help of other forum members who are already using this as a race control system.
We are in the process of producing a quick guide of how to download & install the software for anyone wishing to upgrade or invest in DS equipment which we can email to anyone who sends me a PM.
Whilst i am sure that we will get to grips with the software it would be usefull to ourselves and other forum members if we could exchange ideas & experiences of the software.
So if you are already using the software please post here so that we can get some dialogue going.
Sean.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
GRAH1
post 12 Jun 2009, 10:59
Post #2


Graham Windle
Group Icon



Group: PLUS+
Posts: 3,523
Joined: 16-September 03
From: Agios Georgios ,Crete
Member No.: 9



Sean speak to alexis in greece ,he'll put you intouch with cris or george at the athens club they use software linked to ds counters and it seemed to work well .


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Ian B
post 13 Jun 2009, 21:26
Post #3


Ian
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,402
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Lincoln,Lincolnshire,UK
Member No.: 2,098



Having just installed a DS timer system I'm following this one too... thumbsup.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
phil
post 15 Jun 2009, 07:28
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 27-October 03
From: liverpool uk
Member No.: 257



Yes any information would be welcome on Winslot, as i also have just installed a DS lap counter from Pendle as it happens.So little information was available about Winslot that i bought PC lap counter i have found this to be excellent so far.

phil
Go to the top of the page
 
+
elow the mean
post 15 Jun 2009, 11:54
Post #5


Slothead
Group Icon

Group: PLUS+
Posts: 104
Joined: 26-June 06
From: West London
Member No.: 4,298



I am a massive fan of the DS hardware.

I am a regual user of a 4 and 6 lane DS lap counter, light bridges and stop go boxes. I did install the winslot software, but didn't ever use it in anger. It always seemed a little too expensive for what it does.

I know that the PC lap counter software has just been updated so that it detects the start signal from the DS hardware and it is 25 euros cheaper than winslot. I have a licence for pclapcounter, but have never used it, due to it not detecting the start and end in prior versions, so I can't give you any more information than that.

I guess I have always been a little bit sceptical about investing in software that is now 6 years old and doesn't seem to have any sort of support.

As an aside from the software.

I am not sure if I have uncovered a bug in the hardware, but as there are not many people that have 6 lanes and use the stop go boxes I wonder if you could confirm if you can reproduce the following

the mannual for the DS-300 is a little tricky to understand


"Programming especial control TOTAL or INDIVIDUAL on racing.
How it works ?

TOTAL Control: Indicates that the computer will stop / start all cars at the same
time, something usuall in Slot racing competition.

INDIVIDUAL Control: Indicates that the computer will Stop/ start the cars one by
one when they finish the programmated mode. This is a must programm to use the new
features Formula1, as at the end of the race , the winning car stops and in the following lap
the rest of the cars stops when they cross the sensor, knowing the rest of race places
because of lap difference and time spend on the last lap.

It is also usefull to do racing to a determinate laps and know the time spend on each
car to cover the full programmed laps. It is needed that all cars finish the race to know all
timing. Only pushing the LAPS/TIME key we will know all time spend on all lanes.

For INDIVIDUAL control is needed to have the new “PRO-STOP and GO box”
(DS.0061)"


To me the individual control should mean that when a car finishes the race it stops while the other keep going, until they to finish

Specifically I am useing the f1 mode with time off

for total control it works fine and the all the cars stop when the last car crosses the line, but for individual control, I get an issue where it doesn't start the race for pairs of the cars, 2 and 4 stop but 1 and 3 seem to keep going

I think I have the DS-061 which are the individual relay boxes as they have pro-control written on the side, but how can you tell if they are DS-021? I know it is an issue for 4 and 6 lanes, but have never checked to see if it is a problem for 2 lanes

If someone could check and see if they can reproduce the error I would be most grateful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
-Sy-
post 15 Jun 2009, 12:02
Post #6


Simon Platten
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,016
Joined: 1-February 08
From: UK, Near Norwich
Member No.: 8,566



You could try SRS which supports both the DS-200 and DS-300 and is completely free.
http://asr.avasig.com/index.php?page=pc-slot-racing-system

Download link: http://asr.avasig.com/index.php?page=download


--------------------
Regards, Sy
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Ian B
post 17 Jun 2009, 12:58
Post #7


Ian
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,402
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Lincoln,Lincolnshire,UK
Member No.: 2,098



I can’t believe that’s it only five/six users of the DS software I thought this topic would have generated much more interest wacko.gif



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
r3k0
post 17 Jun 2009, 13:05
Post #8


Trackhead
*******


Group: Members
Posts: 657
Joined: 27-January 08
From: Manchester UK
Member No.: 8,531



But aint they a bit pricey Ian ? my home made counter cost me no more than £10 ?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Pendleslot
post 17 Jun 2009, 15:06
Post #9


Team Owner
********


Group: Retailers
Posts: 1,384
Joined: 18-September 03
From: Pendle Slot Racing, Unit 49 Churchill Way, Nelson, Lancashire, BB9 6RT, England
Member No.: 16



Thanks for your replies so far.
elow the mean - as you rightly state DS022 Stop go box switches 2 lanes together the Pro Stop Go box switches 2 lanes individually. The Pro Box is exactly the same on the outside except that it has Pro series stamped on one end of the box. Sounds like you may have your track power feeds connected incorrectly??? Will PC Lap counter support 6 lanes?
-Sy- Unfortunately SRS only supports 4 lanes, we have a 6 lane track and are looking for software to use with the DS hardware. We have installed DS Winslot and ran our first meeting with it last night. The software is more suited to Endurance racing and does not support a heat / semi / finals format. Our origional race control program was fantastic and more suited to a club race night, Scalex Club Manager by Kevin Tombeur. In an ideal situation we would like to be able to connect this to the DS hardware. Does anyone know if Kevin is still around the club scene?
r3k0 - It may be a little pricey, but is one of very few options available for good lap counting / timing systems without having to have a degree in electronics or computers to instal it.

Sean


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
-Sy-
post 17 Jun 2009, 22:26
Post #10


Simon Platten
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,016
Joined: 1-February 08
From: UK, Near Norwich
Member No.: 8,566



The documentation on SRS is out of date....it supports up to 6 lanes. Works will DS-200 and DS-300 units.


--------------------
Regards, Sy
Go to the top of the page
 
+
elow the mean
post 18 Jun 2009, 09:22
Post #11


Slothead
Group Icon

Group: PLUS+
Posts: 104
Joined: 26-June 06
From: West London
Member No.: 4,298



QUOTE (Pendleslot @ 17 Jun 2009, 15:06) *
elow the mean - as you rightly state DS022 Stop go box switches 2 lanes together the Pro Stop Go box switches 2 lanes individually. The Pro Box is exactly the same on the outside except that it has Pro series stamped on one end of the box. Sounds like you may have your track power feeds connected incorrectly??? Will PC Lap counter support 6 lanes?


PC lap counter will do upto 8 lanes, but as i said I have very little experience of using it. I am sure that SRS is just as good, but again haven't really got any experience.

I checked the stop go boxes that I have and they are all the ds-061 pro versions. I would have thought that if I have the power feeds incorrect, then I would also see issues in total mode. did you have a chance to see if switching modes made any difference for you?

Thanks

D
Go to the top of the page
 
+
GetSlotted
post 2 Jul 2009, 08:14
Post #12


Trackhead
*******


Group: Retailers
Posts: 829
Joined: 5-April 04
From: Lancashire
Member No.: 807



Hi Sy I have downloaded the software onto our computer to work with my DS300 with Stop go boxes. I can't seem to get it to work with the ds 300 system and the instrutions don't really tell me anything. I have put drivers names, track details etc into the program. I just need to know if it is the software that controls the DS or the Ds that controls the software. please could you or anyone who has used this software shed some light on this or what I may have done wrong.

Nic



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
-Sy-
post 2 Jul 2009, 19:56
Post #13


Simon Platten
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,016
Joined: 1-February 08
From: UK, Near Norwich
Member No.: 8,566



Hi Nic,

There are a couple of things it could be:

1) The serial cable, needs to be straight through not crossed over. This means pins 2, 3 and 5 on one connector go to pins 2, 3 and 5 on the other, some serial cables have 2 and 3 crossed, this won't work with a DS-300 and PC.

2) The baud rate setting could be wrong. I have it default to 57600 baud, as that was the setting on the DS-300 I first connected the software to. The setting should be on the back of your DS-300.

You should make sure that the interface is set to the DS-300. When a race starts SRS listens to the DS-300 and receives lap timing information for each driver. You can verify if it is getting data from the DS-300 by monitoring the interface port:

1) Click on the Configuration Tab
2) Click on the Set-up Interace... button
3) Select DS-300 from the Lap Counting Interface drop down list box.

Now make sure the communications port is set-up to the port your DS-300 is connected to, check the communication settings, the only one you may have to change is the baud rate and port number the other settings should be Parity:None, Data bits:8, Stop bits:1.

Click on the Open Port button to establish a link with the DS-300, now if you set-up the DS-300 so its ready to race, then manually trigger a lap count you should see a message appear under the buttons in the text box. This should start with E0 and end with EB, if you don't see this or there is data but it doesn't start and end with E0 and EB then the settings for the port are wrong or the cable isn't correct.

Thanks as much information as I can think of at the moment, if you pass all the above and still have problems please let me know.


--------------------
Regards, Sy
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Ian B
post 3 Jul 2009, 18:57
Post #14


Ian
Group Icon



Group: Moderators
Posts: 8,402
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Lincoln,Lincolnshire,UK
Member No.: 2,098



Nic,
I stumbled at the same place you seemed to have, (for slightly different reasons) however basically following the same instructions and mine is now working and I like it! I don't have the stop go boxes (Yet) but the SW itself works fine. A few days of running and it is very simple to use, which is great as I'm no computer whiz either lmfao.gif





--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
-Sy-
post 3 Jul 2009, 21:23
Post #15


Simon Platten
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,016
Joined: 1-February 08
From: UK, Near Norwich
Member No.: 8,566



Thanks bleep.


--------------------
Regards, Sy
Go to the top of the page
 
+

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



   Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 05:17
© SlotForum Copyright Notice - Please Read / © Aviso de copyright SlotForum - Léanlo, por favor / © A proposito del Copyright del contenuto di Slotforum - Per favore leggere attentamente