Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Adjustable Voltage Regulator with Digital Display, to include in each driver's station
Dingleberry
post 16 Dec 2009, 22:37
Post #1


Learner Driver
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 6-January 09
From: South Florida, USA
Member No.: 10,994



Hello, I was wondering if anyone had any input on how to add a small digital display to this great Adjustable Voltage Regulator.
I'm in the process of painting my track and want to complete the drivers stations.

I'm also looking for a good power supply for 4 lanes - 45' per lane. Can you share with me what you are using and your thoughts?

The completed AVRwDD will be used with the new power supply.

Thanks!


Dean
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RichG
post 17 Dec 2009, 07:59
Post #2


Slot Guru
Group Icon


Group: PLUS+
Posts: 4,717
Joined: 9-March 05
From: Oxon / Northants, UK
Member No.: 2,150



I would buy a cheap digital voltmeter. Many available on ebay.




Digital Volt Meter


Rich




--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+
Black3sr
post 17 Dec 2009, 09:10
Post #3


Bill Beggs
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,937
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Kitchener,Ontario, CANADA
Member No.: 3,798



I did mine this way. The wires run down to the power supply. Just remember to turn it off or have a 9V battery to replace the dead one.



--------------------
New(April 2009) wood track is here My wood track

Place a pin on my map. My Site Scroll down to the bottom of the home page for the map.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Dingleberry
post 17 Dec 2009, 13:43
Post #4


Learner Driver
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 6-January 09
From: South Florida, USA
Member No.: 10,994



Wow - I'm really liking the blue meter!!! How simple! Thanks Rich for the link...

Black3sr - I'd rather not use my Fluke for the track, it's more valuable to me in my toolbag wink.gif but great idea!

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Black3sr
post 17 Dec 2009, 20:18
Post #5


Bill Beggs
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,937
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Kitchener,Ontario, CANADA
Member No.: 3,798



Much better idea than mine Rich. I may go looking for one.


--------------------
New(April 2009) wood track is here My wood track

Place a pin on my map. My Site Scroll down to the bottom of the home page for the map.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RichD
post 24 Dec 2009, 01:28
Post #6


Rich Dumas
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,918
Joined: 3-October 03
From: East Haven, CT, USA
Member No.: 191



In the USA the most popular power supply for 1/32nd tracks is probably the Pyramid PS-26KX. It is regulated and filtered with the voltage adjustable from 6 to 15 volts and good for 25 amp peaks. Do a Google search for sellers and be sure to include the shipping charges when you compare prices. I payed $125 for mine shipped.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
agp56
post 25 Dec 2009, 17:04
Post #7


Slothead
****

Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 30-November 08
From: Blue Springs, MO USA
Member No.: 10,596



I am using the Pyramid PS-26KX also. I have younger racers over from time to time and am glad to be able to dial it down a little bit. If you do not need that feature, the Pyramid PS-21KX will do nicely.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
sealevel
post 25 Dec 2009, 18:52
Post #8


Founder, the Analysis Paralysis Club
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2,763
Joined: 22-January 09
From: Richmond, BC, Canada
Member No.: 11,197



Is this digital display and AVR only used with analogue tracks or would one use it with digital?
I have never heard of monitoring the voltage for each driver before.

Just curious!
Cheers!
smile.gif


--------------------
My 4x12 layout | Track Categories | Digital/Sport PB wiring | Track cleaning vehicles
Modular layouts |Throttle Holders | PB-Pro separation | Rivets for barriers
----- PB-Pro+SH, SSDC, RichG Lap Tower, Pit-Pro ----- (Track still under development) -----
"analysis paralysis" - inability to make a decision after extensive data gathering & evaluation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Dingleberry
post 25 Dec 2009, 19:32
Post #9


Learner Driver
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 6-January 09
From: South Florida, USA
Member No.: 10,994



Thanks RichD and agp56, I'll definately look into those Pyramid supplies!

Would I be able to use the stock Carrera controllers with either of those?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RichD
post 26 Dec 2009, 17:17
Post #10


Rich Dumas
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,918
Joined: 3-October 03
From: East Haven, CT, USA
Member No.: 191



The Carrera controllers will work with any power supply. There are a number of reasons for having seperate voltage adjustment for each lane. You can equalize the lanes for closer racing, you can lower the voltage for overpowered cars, you can raise the voltage for underpowered cars and you can handicap different racers. Having dedicated volt meters will let you see exactly where the voltage is set without having to hookup a multimeter.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Dingleberry
post 26 Dec 2009, 17:31
Post #11


Learner Driver
***

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 6-January 09
From: South Florida, USA
Member No.: 10,994



I just purchased a brand new PS-26KX for $98 including shipping on ebay! Hopefully it comes before Thursday. Now I just have to source all the parts to make 4 AVR's... full steam ahead!!! xmas.gif

and thanks for all your help guys!!! clap.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Black3sr
post 26 Dec 2009, 20:32
Post #12


Bill Beggs
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1,937
Joined: 8-March 06
From: Kitchener,Ontario, CANADA
Member No.: 3,798



QUOTE (Dingleberry @ 26 Dec 2009, 12:31) *
I just purchased a brand new PS-26KX for $98 including shipping on ebay! Hopefully it comes before Thursday. Now I just have to source all the parts to make 4 AVR's... full steam ahead!!! xmas.gif

and thanks for all your help guys!!! clap.gif


You stole that one!. Heck shipping is usually $40-50 alone.


--------------------
New(April 2009) wood track is here My wood track

Place a pin on my map. My Site Scroll down to the bottom of the home page for the map.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dangermouse
post 20 Jan 2010, 03:59
Post #13


Trackhead
Group Icon

Group: PLUS+
Posts: 994
Joined: 28-November 07
From: Australia
Member No.: 8,039



RichG
thanks for the tip - picked up one of those digtial voltmeters, they work a treat.

cheers
DM


--------------------
Redisovering slotcars
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



   Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 15:12
© SlotForum Copyright Notice - Please Read / © Aviso de copyright SlotForum - Léanlo, por favor / © A proposito del Copyright del contenuto di Slotforum - Per favore leggere attentamente