Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Why won't my Scalextric car move?, Dim flickering light on powerbase
Mercedes GP
post 4 Aug 2010, 18:11
Post #1


Racer Dude
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 24-December 09
Member No.: 13,914



I have a Scalextric F430 crash resistant car which dies not work. I'll explain the symptoms of the problem in the hope someone can give me some expert advise:

I built a small oval test track out of scalextric sport analogue, tested this track with a Lewis hamilton F1 to make sure the track was fine. It was.

I then place the F430 on track, I press the trigger to make it go, but the bright red light on the powerbase goes dim and flickers, the car won't move. Hmm.

I place the Hamilton car behind the broken f430 and the hamilton car pushes the f430 round. I remove the Hamilton car and the f430 is able to go round on it's own steam, all this happened while the powerbase light flickers.

Then the f430 comes to a stop, the plug in the wall is clicking, and the powerbase light is out. I remove the f430 and use my testing Hamilton car, the same thing happens. I remove the power source from the base and then reatach it? It works fine again with the Hamilton car

the f430 won't move and has dim flickering powerbase light.

Can somebody explain this please:


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
slotcarscrapyard
post 4 Aug 2010, 18:26
Post #2


Trackhead
Group Icon


Group: PLUS+
Posts: 913
Joined: 5-January 08
From: Sussex UK
Member No.: 8,352



Sounds like the F430 has a short connection, this could be the braids overlapped or a stray piece of braid accross the guide or an internal fault on the wires.


--------------------
Slot car scrap yard
Does your car carry a doner card?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
slotnik
post 4 Aug 2010, 18:32
Post #3


Still Learning
********


Group: Members
Posts: 1,104
Joined: 13-December 05
From: Wokingham, UK
Member No.: 3,219



The powerbase light goes dim when something is drawing too much current.
Does the F430 feel free to move?
If you turn the car over can you move the rear wheels round easily without any binding
Is it new/under guarantee?
How do feel about opening her up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Koala2
post 4 Aug 2010, 20:14
Post #4


Top Tuner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 350
Joined: 18-April 08
From: Brussels
Member No.: 9,098



The click in the power suplier is an overheating protection.
You're lucky you didn't fry the whole thing. According to your description it is not only possible but absolutely sure your Ferrari causes a short cut.
Get your ohm-meter out and find the cause before you put that car back on the track.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Mercedes GP
post 7 Aug 2010, 09:29
Post #5


Racer Dude
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 24-December 09
Member No.: 13,914



Right so the car is causing a short circuit?

I switched to a brand new braid, this did not make the car work, so it's not because some of the old braid was out of place.
The wheels turn just as easily as any of my other cars, when by hand.

As a last resort I could take it back to the shop, but how could I try and fix a shortcircuiting car?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LMP
post 7 Aug 2010, 10:52
Post #6


Gary Skipp
Group Icon



Group: PLUS+
Posts: 4,776
Joined: 21-March 04
From: Solihull, UK
Member No.: 769



It sounds like a short. You'll have to inspect the wiring from the braid to the motor and see where the problem could be. It might be a good idea to remove any of the electrical surpressors, these are known to cause problems sometimes. Also check that any magnets are not touching any wiring or the track rails.

Are you sure it isn't a digital car? Might sound stupid but...


--------------------
Gary
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Mercedes GP
post 7 Aug 2010, 15:11
Post #7


Racer Dude
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 24-December 09
Member No.: 13,914



I can 100% confirm it is not digital, it is DPR ready but has not been converted with the sensor ect...
Thing is this car was a runner just a month or two ago tongue.gif

This might sound stupid. but what is an electrical surpressor, are they the orange circles?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Ade
post 7 Aug 2010, 15:55
Post #8


Track Competition.
Group Icon




Group: PLUS+
Posts: 5,648
Joined: 12-December 09
From: kingswinford.
Member No.: 13,786



hi
yes they are indeed the orange circles.As previously stated its time to take the top off to find the cause as its doubtfull that any shop would be interested in a refund after a couple of months of use..

Easy way to test is get two spare lenghts of wire and tape the throttle open then put two ends on the rails and the other two directly to the motor.

If the result is the same as before the motor is shot.If it revs well then the short is elsewhere.

Motors on the whole are ultra reliable and i have had only one that did not last very long and when it went awol after about a week it did indeed cause a short.


--------------------
Regards.Ade
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Mercedes GP
post 7 Aug 2010, 16:29
Post #9


Racer Dude
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 208
Joined: 24-December 09
Member No.: 13,914



Right I've had a look at the "inner workings."

I'm not really confident about taking it all apart, ie I've never done it before so don't know what to do ohmy.gif

Do I just rip the electricle surpressers out?
I have lengths of wire to attatch to the motor but do I remove the other wires first, this might be hard because they are welded to the motor. Is there a special way to remove the old wires.

Please excuse my concerns, it's just I don't want to further damage the car,


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Ade
post 7 Aug 2010, 16:34
Post #10


Track Competition.
Group Icon




Group: PLUS+
Posts: 5,648
Joined: 12-December 09
From: kingswinford.
Member No.: 13,786



hi
yes you can wire straight to the motor to test no need to remove anything.The welds you see are solder and you need to purchase a iron to tackle these should you need to remove them.


--------------------
Regards.Ade
Go to the top of the page
 
+
slotnik
post 7 Aug 2010, 18:39
Post #11


Still Learning
********


Group: Members
Posts: 1,104
Joined: 13-December 05
From: Wokingham, UK
Member No.: 3,219



You may want to update your profile so we can see where you are from
One of us may be local or there may be a local club that you can pop along to
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



 
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 20:43
© SlotForum Copyright Notice - Please Read / © Aviso de copyright SlotForum - Léanlo, por favor / © A proposito del Copyright del contenuto di Slotforum - Per favore leggere attentamente