> HO Versus 1/43?
Guam Slot Racer
post 8 Jul 2011, 02:39
Post #1

Learner Driver

Group: Members
Member No.: 14,245

Hafa Adai Slot Friends!

I have a question that has bugged me for quite a while now. I've been racing 1/32 for a few years, and really love it. I'm also venturing out into HO, and have been enjoying it. I've done a bit of research on 1/43 also, but not done any racing yet.

The Question: It seems that HO and 1/43 are closely related, but HO is about an inch or so smaller. Why does one prefer HO over 1/43. I've gathered that HO is more popular than 1/43, but why?

Maybe someone can list pros and cons for both.

Thanks!

Rob
Go to the top of the page

+
John Cahill
post 8 Jul 2011, 08:37
Post #2

Team Owner

Member No.: 1,168

from the little I've seen of both...one obvious set of distinctions is that there are many more HO cars available...both chassis styles and bodies, yet the 1/43 seem to be a newer design with guide flags and motor arrangement more like 1/32.

I've had a lot of HO cars off and on, and only tried a few of the Carrera Go 1/43 recently...so don't really know that much. I'm sure you'll get more in depth responses shortly...

John

+
Julian_Boolean
post 8 Jul 2011, 09:44
Post #3

Slot Guru

Member No.: 10,466

1:43 cars are more like small 1:32 cars than big 1:64 cars, but I would say the main reason for 1:43 unpopularity is that most people's experience of 1:43 is the Artin sets, and the cars in these are pretty poor.

--------------------
Playing with toy cars

+
zarko
post 8 Jul 2011, 12:35
Post #4

Team Owner
Group Icon

Group: PLUS+
Member No.: 10,970

It was not until recently that I had a chance to see 1/43 scale cars in action and I was very impressed. But, when I looked up the prices, unfortunately it put me off straight away.

--------------------

+
Lloyd.L
post 8 Jul 2011, 21:10
Post #5

Trackhead
Group Icon

Member No.: 13,264