Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I'm pretty new to this and I have searched and searched but only found half my solution.

I've seen people comment about having a separate power supply to the lane changers as the sap power but I can't find an idiots guide to do this?? I have 6 lane changers plus changers within a section to make 4 lanes aswell as pitlane.

I've also seen comments about a seperate power supply such as the rc Nicad charger but again can't find anything to tell me what to do with it other than 'sort second psu out as soon as you can'.

I really do need someone experienced to talk to me like I'm a child - I know cars inside out but struggling with scalextric digital.

Thanks
Chris

·
Circuit Owner
5,889 Posts
Hello,

If you are using the C7042 APB then a second power supply would help with 4 or less cars and is essential for running 5 or 6 cars.

Yes the lane changers use power. It's simple to power them separately - just take the back panel off and wire them up to your power supply. The reason you can do this is because the lane change mechanism only takes power and not data/instructions from the track. The instructions come from the in-car LEDs through the lane changer sensors.

However you will need to look up the thread on how to do this using the Slotforum search box because I can't remember the voltage or exactly how to connect up. The lane changers receive AC or DC power from an APB depending on mode and can still be triggered in analogue mode by external light sources so there must be a rectifier circuit in there and you need to connect you DC supply in the correct way.

Happy hunting (search box top right of screen)

·
Mr. Olufsen
1,212 Posts
Cheers Chris,

I was looking for the same thing the other day. Please give post no. 6 in this thread a look.

Br,
Christian

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·