SlotForum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so anyway, heres the thing.... i've got a 4 lane track and want to make two of the lanes into digital...

from reading the forums i gather that the changeover curves don't connect the power between lanes, so these will work with a standard sport power base allowing me to put them into the layout and still run it as a standard four lane when i want to... is this true?

all i need to do is change the power base in the layout depending on whether i want to run 4 lane standard or 2 lane digital?



how about a four lane digital!!!!! that would be crazy... anyone got any ideas about this
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
QUOTE (justmarty @ 13 Dec 2004, 13:00)\
from reading the forums i gather that the changeover curves don't connect the power between lanes, so these will work with a standard sport power base allowing me to put them into the layout and still run it as a standard four lane when i want to... is this true?

all i need to do is change the power base in the layout depending on whether i want to run 4 lane standard or 2 lane digital?
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

That is how I understand it to work with Scalextric's digital system. Just swap out the powerbase.

{rb}
 

·
René &#39;Vialli&#39; Christensen
Joined
·
4,861 Posts
Well, if you can make a LC from lane 2 to lane 3 and the other way round - then you got it!
It can be done with the famous DaVic system, so why not with these new systems?
I have thoughts about a four lane digital track, but lane 1 and 4 is only for skidding and re-entre cars who has de-slotted.
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
QUOTE (randybrown @ 13 Dec 2004, 21:11)That is how I understand it to work with Scalextric's digital system. Just swap out the powerbase.That's also what I've been able to read in the few reviews I've seen.

The odd thing is - why didn't they put an option for analog racing in the digital power base? - it's just a bit of extra software!, and it would make migration from analog to digital so much easier?

Four lane digital racing is not a problem, seen from a control point of view. The only limitation I can see right now, is the lack of suitable lane change track pieces.

Scalextric only have a R2 curve lane change on the program. You could add fixed cross overs to the layout, as you are no longer limited to an even number of cross overs. An example could be a fixed straight cross over between the two center lanes (2/3) on a four lane circuit. The normal R2 lane changes could then be used between lane 1/2 and lane 3/4 elsewhere on the track.

Søren
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
QUOTE (darainbow @ 13 Dec 2004, 22:55)The LCs ALSO have common power so you need to swap them out too.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>Looking at the pictures of a disassembled Scalextric lane change, it seems that the controller only takes power from one of the two slots (the red and black wire). I don't think that the two slots are shorted by the lane change.

Can someone with a digital set verify this?.

Søren
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
QUOTE (justmarty @ 13 Dec 2004, 23:09)so will one digital powerbase power all 4 lanes?With the Scalextric digital powerbase, you'll need to swap it physically with a standard power base.

With our homebuilt digital do-it-yourself powerbase, you'll need two bases to power four lanes. This solution will run both analog and digital mode without physically changing any track pieces.

Søren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
thanks soren,

what i really meant was will a SSD powerbase run all 4 tracks allowing 4 lane digital mayhem??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts
QUOTE (SWoRd @ 13 Dec 2004, 23:37)Can someone with a digital set verify this?.

Søren
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

ATTENTION: The LC does connect the power of the two slots; so YOU HAVE TO TAKE OUT LC for running analog !!!!!

Greetings
Zubi
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
QUOTE (zubi @ 14 Dec 2004, 07:38)ATTENTION: The LC does connect the power of the two slots; so YOU HAVE TO TAKE OUT LC for running analog !!!!!Thank's for clarifying this issue

... but what a bummer


I think I'll modify my lane changes with my own lane change driver anyway, so it's not a big problem for me


But it's an inconvenience none the less, for people that doesn't want to bother with track modifications.

Søren
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
QUOTE (Slotrace.dk @ 14 Dec 2004, 20:13)But is it easy to connect the wire again?
But why would you want to connect it?.

Even when running analog mode, it's better to have separate power on each slot, so that the drivers doesn't influence each other.

Søren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,634 Posts
QUOTE (Slotrace.dk @ 14 Dec 2004, 19:13)But is it easy to connect the wire again?
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>
make sure there is power to the LC mechanism, and power to the LC diagonal rails from 1 lane, and disconect the other lane.

Then it will work analogue and digital.

I guess they wired it to be connected as kind of a poor man's power-tap kind of thing
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top