SlotForum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Damien Straw
562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I have been playing with my Scalex digital set for a couple of years now so I am still a real newbie. I was going to Napier on business this week and managed to arrange to do some racing with the club in Hawkes Bay. Thanks to the help from slotcrazy on this forum. I really didn't know what to expect although I did expect to be a little out of my depth with serious slot racers who know all the technical intricacies I do not and have skills far beyond mine.
I arrived in the late afternoon and members trickled in after that one by one, a BBQ was cranked up for tea and the racing began. The racing was all new for me having never driven on wood and the round robin setup was easy and fun, I was really impressed. Te thing that made it all so great though was being welcomed the way I was.

Many thanks Hawkes Bay! You have a good bunch of guys, competitive but lighthearted fun racing and the banter was entertaining too.

I don't know if all clubs are like this, I hope so. So for anyone considering whether they should visit a club, I'd say do it for sure.

Cheers,
Damo.
P.S. sorry to anyone whose car I knocked off at the squeeze section, I hadn't driven rond one of those before. I guess next time though I'll have no excuses?!?!

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Heya Damo

I'm back home a day early. Glad you were able to experience a club situation, and meet some of the guys. A few still away on Christmas/summer hols, but you can catch them next time you're in the Bay.

Don't worry about anyone you may have nerfed, we have a couple of "experts" in club to whose "heights" you could only aspire with much practice

You actually did really well for first time without magnets, and would only take a few weeks at club to be well into the pack.

You got to see three sorts of racing we do -