SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
917 Posts
Yes, I used to have two crossovers on my track and I ran my challenger with no problems.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
291 Posts
I have been looking at getting one of these systems.
To help me when my mate isn't available to race,.

But isn't sportworld going to do the same thing but with any car?

I may wait, unless I find one cheap! Racing against my own times may have to do?

Az
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I found the Challenger to be fun, even if it is to have another car on the track when you have no one else to race with at the time.

Sport World should offer a feature like this, but the last reply I seen posted on Scalextric's Cyber Chat was dated Nov. 14th that read in part "Sport World is due for release mid 2005". So we could be looking at 6 months or more before Sport World is available.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
911 Posts
is the challenger worth buying? cos i was lookin at it, but if i were to get it id have to find one as cheap as possible (student finances). is it a good investment, or is it just something thats easyly beatable?
 

·
Matt Tucker
Joined
·
3,560 Posts
Easy beatable or not? Actually it depends on your track - on a long flowing course its pretty quick although I gain considerably on braking from straights into R1 or R2 corners. I race mine mainly w/o magnets and its a good challenge. However if you race with magnets or on courses with short straights and lots of twisty sections it is easily beatable.

Note ensure you read the guide on SF to getting the most out of it - ensure you true the tyres as a min or swap them for slicks (straight from a standard Scaly Merc) or eif you run on smooth tracks (Sport, Carrera) then consider swapping for silicon tyres e.g indy grips, road huggers - they will ensure the car grips round every corner and give you best speed.

Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
876 Posts
QUOTE I use indygrips on mine - they're slightly taller than standard

Hmmm...I wonder if you could "trick" the Challenger into going slightly faster by letting it "learn" with those slightly taller tires and then put the stock ones back on to race??? I had a Challenger, and though it was competition for the few of my non-magnet cars (Ninco Classics) anything with a magnet passed it with ease. I knew it had more "speed" in it, but couldn't figure out how to get it to "learn" that it did.

Another question - yes, I know this "voided" the warranty, but has anyone done a "re-paint or re-body" of one and put those flashing lights inside the body???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
I've found my challenger to be a bit hit or miss. Sometimes its fine other times it won't make it round the first corner without shooting off.

I've read before about putting indy grips on the rear but do I just ring a slot specialist and ask for indy grips to fit a challenger car? will they know what I'm on about even if I don't?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
876 Posts
Another thought came to mind...at least for those that have "traction", but need more speed - has anyone with a variable power supply tried "teaching" it at a lower voltage and then running it at whatever your prefered voltage is???
 

·
DT
Joined
·
5,195 Posts
QUOTE (Da Vols @ 6 Jan 2005, 15:46)QUOTE I use indygrips on mine - they're slightly taller than standard

Hmmm...I wonder if you could "trick" the Challenger into going slightly faster by letting it "learn" with those slightly taller tires and then put the stock ones back on to race??? I had a Challenger, and though it was competition for the few of my non-magnet cars (Ninco Classics) anything with a magnet passed it with ease. I knew it had more "speed" in it, but couldn't figure out how to get it to "learn" that it did.<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Changing the tyre diameter would not work as it is used, not to control speed, but to measure your track out and the distances between the curves (slow) and straights (fast). If you fool it into going faster, it will misjudge the curves and come off.

QUOTE Another question - yes, I know this "voided" the warranty, but has anyone done a "re-paint or re-body" of one and put those flashing lights inside the body???
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I was about to do this. Initially thinking of putting the electronics into another race car, but then when I saw the special chassis. You have to fine another body to fit this chassis. I gave up as it wouldn't go into my Vipers. You could perhaps look at putting it into another Merc DTM or perhaps one of the Opels.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
172 Posts
QUOTE (taxi @ 6 Jan 2005, 11:45)I use indygrips on mine - they're slightly taller than standard and allow space for a slim magnet to be glued to the underside of the chassis by the rear axle - now it's hard to beat with box-stock cars!!

Rob

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Finally a solution. I bought one and the best lap was 6.2 sec and with my worse car I race in 5.4. I'll try change the tyres, but I didn't understand about magnet.
 

·
Peter Christie
Joined
·
1,835 Posts
Might be a silly question but.....is the 'Techonology' from the challanger car transferable into different models so you can race against ALL your cars

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
911 Posts
from what i gather the inside is crammed with gismos and so on, and its pretty much fitted to a custom chassis, so changing cars could be difficult. could change the shell tho, so your not racing a pace car (thats illegal in real racing!!)
 

·
Peter Christie
Joined
·
1,835 Posts
QUOTE (Skeeter @ 10 Jan 2005, 19:58)from what i gather the inside is crammed with gismos and so on, and its pretty much fitted to a custom chassis, so changing cars could be difficult. could change the shell tho, so your not racing a pace car (thats illegal in real racing!!)
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

don't race....yet, just wanted the option to race other cars...maybe there will be further releases of different styles...maybe even different manufacturers....
 

·
Rob
Joined
·
3,430 Posts
xelayb,

sorry it's taken me so long to reply...



This is what I meant about the magnet - the slightly taller tyres give just enough clearance to glue a slim bar magnet to the underside. I've covered it with tape just in case.

This thing is a beast to race against!!

Rob
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top