SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being shut in during the pandemic, we are assembling a routed track that has been sitting in the attic. In reading about AC2Car systems and David Reinecke's mention of his earlier AC powered track, I became enamored with the notion of prototypical speeds. I even purchased a Lionel LW 125 train transformer that probably produces 90 watts and 5-6 amps, recommended on AC2Car.org. From reading, the motors run a bit hotter, but aren't damaged.

However, the track is a 17'x4' variation of Suzuka that appeared in a 60s era slot cat magazine (actually, it's a variation of that design as I incorporated a long straight as recommended by the author after the fact). It's a conventionally routed track--3 lanes with a squeeze and no lane changing. In addition, we aren't intending to run an AC2Car system with two cars per lane on differing polarities. One car per lane.

I am not an electrician. No one would even hire me to play one on TV. So, I've a few questions that I hope someone experienced with AC or AC2Car systems, or any engineering background can answer.

Can I wire this as one would a D.C., analogue, one car per lane system? AC2Car controller wiring instructions require that the red brake wire NOT be connected. However, if I'm running one car per lane can I ignore these instructions and connect the red wire to retain the brake function?

Second, running a single car, do we need to install the diode in the controller at all, or can we wire up the controller directly with no diode?

Any concerns with reversing switches with AC, or with Track Timing? I'm considering Trakmate or Viasue systems.

Anything else we should consider?

It seems that the AC2Car.org site isn't being updated. That's a shame, but I imagine other priorities emerge over time. They are beautiful tracks.

Thanks in advance for any advice. Photos of my track in progress attached.

Best regards
IMG_0133.JPG IMG_0132.JPG