Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Gregory Petrolati
1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's a shot of my latest project, An Allard J2X. It's the first "from scratch" car I've done. BTW, It's 1/32nd scale. The body was carved from wood with resin inlays. The wings were made with JB Weld putty and the rest of the bits are from various sources or hand made.

What is pictured is the car body, the wings headlamps, steering wheel, fuel filler and 2 different blisters for the bonnet of the car depending on the car to be made. J2Xs were seen in a wide variety of guises...`with or without louvers, different blisters on the bonnet... even no blister but with a cut out for triple downdraft carbs. They were raced with stock wings, cycle wings and no wings at all.

The body is a slosh casting while the "bits" are 2 part molded and are a tad "flashy" but quite useable (I'm still learning the process).

I'll be making a set of decals to depict Jim Kimbery's "8 ball" livery, which will be included with the car.

·
Allan Wakefield
5,857 Posts
Very good, clean looking casting there !

Do you have some History of the real car to share with us and maybe some pics?

Will a TSRF chassis fit under it ?

Ok! Ok! --I WAS JOKING !!!

·
Registered
3,883 Posts
QUOTE Will it fit under a TSRF chassis ?

Ok! Ok! --I WAS JOKING !!!

You'd better be, Swiss! I caught Mr P hisself with this one about a year ago!
There is VERY little room indeed UNDER a TSRF chassis, you know -
very few bodies can be slid into that two millimetre gap with any degree of success!

It certainly is a very sharp looking job, Greenman.

Have you plans for other bodies?

·
Al Schwartz
3,378 Posts
Here are a few shots I took at Watking Glen in '98 - the 50th anniversary celebration - Allard was the featured marque. If you look at the photo of Tom Cole's Allard, you will see Briggs Cunningham III looking it over