SlotForum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the process of making and applying decals. What is the general procedure used to apply decals?

I have read on a modeling forum that some use products called Micro-set and Micro-sol others say a white vinegar and water mixture works just as good.

I am just a bit weary that when all the effort was done that the decal might become silvery and that the finished product does not look smooth like a real paintjob.

I have had a look at some of the creations on the forum and the results are amazing. It looks like a car made by a manufacturer.

Thanks
Slotstormer

· Registered
22 Posts
Applying decals: the procedure: water-slide decals:

1. Surface preparation:

Paint the model with GLOSSY paint (matte finishes cause the decals to silver due to the uneven surface which traps air causing "silvering"),

Rub out the surface of the vehicle before applying the decals; wash thoroughly in warm soapy water to remove any compounds or residue that remains from the polishing process. Make certain the surface is clean and free of dust.

2. Applying decals:

Efficient application of water-slide decals can be achieved by using special solutions specifically made for their application: these setting solutions will "snug" the decal down to the painted surface and will cut down on bubbles forming underneath the decal film. Brush the setting solution onto the surface where you want to apply the decal just before you apply the decal. (Smaller decals should be applied using tweezers; larger decals do not require this procedure).