SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a motor racing fan and wanting to replicate real life as much as possible in the world of slots, it got me thinking of the fuel vs tyre pitstop discussion and I have some different ideas. Of course I am no expert when it comes to writing software and I think both SSDC and PCLC are fantastic, but sometimes its good to discuss opinions.

Currently in the world of slots, we fuel up the cars and then they become heavy and slow and then as the fuel burns off and they become lighter and faster. My argument is that I do not think this works without having some other parameters set such as tyre wear.

Let me explain...

In real racing, a driver avoids going into the pits unless he has no other option. That is he either needs fuel to keep going, has a mechanical problem or he thinks new tyres will allow him to go faster (or the regulations force a pitstop). The point is that a pitstops slows you down from reaching your target so there has to be an upside.

The upside is that tyres make you go faster, so pitting for fresh tyres makes sense and can actually help you to win the race. Having less fuel is a marginal bonus to going a bit faster but tyres make a bigger difference.

In the world of slots, there is no incentive to pit unless you really have to, but the refueling is currently set as a negative thing. That is, you refuel and then go slower. There is no real incentive to want to use the pits unless you have no other choice.

If tyres were included in slot racing, then there would be a much better reason to pit as you may be able to go faster than your rivals. Now a pit stop is starting to make sense as its a benefit. Now there is a bit more strategy as in do you risk a pit stop to go faster than your rival, rather than pitting for fuel and then going slower anyway.