SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,396 Posts
I've been enjoying slot cars for over 20 years, but in all that time I have never had a permanent layout. So when Taxi said he was dismantling his Forester's Dream 3 he asked whether I wanted to give his track a new home otherwise it was going off to the rubbish dump, I bit the bullet and said yes.

So here we have a picture of Taxi's FD3 in all its former glory

The main problem I was faced with is a lack of space. Taxi's garage has probably twice the floor space as mine, but on Sunday I popped over to Gloucester with my Dad and loaded up his car with the now dismantled FD3 track. You'll have to keep a look out for any plans Taxi may have for a future track as his garage now has lots of space!!

We got back home unloaded the car and filled my garge with what is now a very large pile of wood. I asked my Dad if I'd bitten off more than I could chew, but he said this would be no problem to get up and going again.

The track is now like a giant jigsaw, the main straight is around 4 metres long, my garage area is only 2.50 metres, but yesterday we made a start getting the track up and running.

We laid the track on the driveway and made a rough plan of what we could dispose of, but we wanted to keep as much of the original track as possible and try to limit any wastage. Once we had the measurements we set about cutting the surplus and getting the track into the garage so that we can start making the frame.

(the bend leading to the main straight)

A new section will need to be routed here so that the 2 sections match

A close fit, but additional routing needed to match the two sections