Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 20 of 198 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just ran 600 laps with 3 different cars half on the inside lane and the other half on the outside lane. Here are the results:-

Car 1 - inside - 100 laps - 3 missed laps
Car 1 - outside - 100 laps - 5 missed laps

Car 2 - inside - 100 laps - 5 missed laps
Car 2 - outside - 100 laps - 1 missed lap

Car 3 - inside - 100 laps - 1 missed lap
Car 3 - outside - 100 laps - 2 missed laps

The track is permanent with 2 straight sections before the APB, so no tail slide crossing the sensors. SSDC is running v5.3 and APB firmware is v1.07.

I thought the new firmware for the APB sorted the missing laps problem!

Any ideas or suggestions - other than the obvious, that is to say always choose Car 3 and let the mother-in-law drive Car 1


Andy P
 

·
Andrew Wallace
Joined
·
1,100 Posts
Do you have a minimum lap time set on the powerbase, or set within SSDC? Both of these values should be significantly less than your best possible lap time. The powerbase only uses the ID sensor in 1.07, so as long as you are going straight over the powerbase, it should clock the lap.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Hi Chaps,
If latest fimware now uses the ID sensor for lap times, does it still use the blade sensor in analogue mode ?
Cheers , Martin

PS Great update, much much easier to use !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Pretty interesting ...

My younger son (20) and me (50) are freshmen to this hobby, bought a Digital Platinum and additionally, a C1195, resulting in a nice combined track.

Bought SSDC with cable (took only a week from your nice island to Berlin ;-)). Updated firmware of 7042, of course (freshmen, but not too stupid ;-)).

And found - first by "what ...?" "can't believe" moments - then by staring at the laptop and listening hard to the nice racing sounds when passing the lap counter, that here and there, lap counts were missing, estimating some minor, but nerving, percentages.

We didn't any statistics, till now, but it was clear and obvious.

Counter / 7042 is placed after a standard quarter curve, in front of a 180 degrees one, so we're not going THAT fast, there.

We would love to see this being fixed, after a looong decision time period whether we should use the "typical German" Carrera system or the better looking and more traditional Scalextric one (specially the nice Digital Platinum Box and finding the SSDC software made the decision, finally - we bought the SSDC cable BEFORE the Platinum package ;-)).

Sorry for bad English - school times are far away in the past ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
QUOTE (Ulli_Berlin @ 30 Jan 2012, 09:12) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Pretty interesting ...

My younger son (20) and me (50) are freshmen to this hobby, bought a Digital Platinum and additionally, a C1195, resulting in a nice combined track.

Bought SSDC with cable (took only a week from your nice island to Berlin ;-)). Updated firmware of 7042, of course (freshmen, but not too stupid ;-)).

And found - first by "what ...?" "can't believe" moments - then by staring at the laptop and listening hard to the nice racing sounds when passing the lap counter, that here and there, lap counts were missing, estimating some minor, but nerving, percentages.

We didn't any statistics, till now, but it was clear and obvious.

Counter / 7042 is placed after a standard quarter curve, in front of a 180 degrees one, so we're not going THAT fast, there.

We would love to see this being fixed, after a looong decision time period whether we should use the "typical German" Carrera system or the better looking and more traditional Scalextric one (specially the nice Digital Platinum Box and finding the SSDC software made the decision, finally - we bought the SSDC cable BEFORE the Platinum package ;-)).

Sorry for bad English - school times are far away in the past ;-)

Same Set (Platinum Ones)... Same Problem.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,109 Posts
Random effects or not?

What Andy Wallace is referring to is the powerbase has a minimum time set inside it (this can only be adjusted with the tower) and then SSDC software has its own settable minimum lap time so it knows if there is a changed ID or something wrong.
If the powerbase setting is too high a value then when you are connected to SSDC the program will not be receiving all of the data as the powerbase will exclude data it thinks is wrong and not send it up the cable.

I would advise adjusting the minimum lap time on the tower to be ridiculously low so that the powerbase does not interfere with the racing. Minimum setting is something like half a second if I remember correctly.

Also make sure that the minimum lap time set in SSDC is below anything that your best driver with the best car can achieve.

And.... update your firmware in the C7042 to 1.006 or 1.007, these versions resolve the lap counting issues with the original Scalextric firmware.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
QUOTE (RikoRocket @ 30 Jan 2012, 09:34) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Random effects or not?

What Andy Wallace is referring to is the powerbase has a minimum time set inside it (this can only be adjusted with the tower) and then SSDC software has its own settable minimum lap time so it knows if there is a changed ID or something wrong.
If the powerbase setting is too high a value then when you are connected to SSDC the program will not be receiving all of the data as the powerbase will exclude data it thinks is wrong and not send it up the cable.

I would advise adjusting the minimum lap time on the tower to be ridiculously low so that the powerbase does not interfere with the racing. Minimum setting is something like half a second if I remember correctly.

Also make sure that the minimum lap time set in SSDC is below anything that your best driver with the best car can achieve.

And.... update your firmware in the C7042 to 1.006 or 1.007, these versions resolve the lap counting issues with the original Scalextric firmware.

Hi Riko, thanks for your quick reply.

1) On Digital Mode is "rare" the lap count works... Really... A absurd !!! Note: XLC work very well

2) On Analog Mode work fine... Few missing laps... but normal.

3) First thing that i did was the PB firmware update... 1.07... Same problems... So, i return to stock 0.85... Without solution.

4) About "Track Time"... I found this config on "Yellow Flag" menu, but is set to default value... 0 (zero) !?!?!

Note: I reset the PB to the Factory Defaults a lot of times (Platform menu), trying solve the problem.

Say a little more about "Track Time" config, maybe i trying on wrong place/menu.

Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
First, I think I have to apologize for my a bit rude introduction - Germans tend to be too strict to the point, here and there.

So: We love our new Scalextric track, and you guys - your cable, and Andrew's nice software - finally made our decision easy to use Scalextric (with your add ons) instead of the (here in Germany) much more common Carrera stuff (pretty high nosed people - you can't "smell the Gasoline" ;-) with them as you can with you Scalextric related guys! :)).

Thanks for quick replies!

We did the firmware update out of the box to version 1.07.

The effect seems to be random, as far as I can tell. We tried going pretty fast, sliding over the lap counter, did it in medium speed - happened without any effect of sliding or not, speedy or not, in around 5%, mostly in the inner lane.
We'll do more investigation, here.

I will look up whether there's some lap time limit set too high, in the evening (I'm in my office, atm) - but we didn't touch this setting, till now, and used it as it came right out of the box (if I remember correctly, I guess - it was a LOT to read and understand for me old guy, only knowing pretty old analogue Carrera tracks from the age around 15 ;-)).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
QUOTE (awallace @ 30 Jan 2012, 10:16) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Also, make sure that your braids are not messing up the ID sensor by getting in the way. Collected dust in the braids can also cause problems.

No. .. I do not think this is the problem ... The track is perfectly clean ...
Braids have not frayed or has any accumulated dirt... The set has three days of use ... It's new!
About the sensors, I tried to take some pictures, but they are very, very small...
Have no apparent physical damage.
 

·
Circuit Owner
Joined
·
5,889 Posts
Hello, may I try to make helpful suggestions?

I take it that all those with problems have well maintained braids?

I was having significant problems with car IDs and lap counting using SSDC and the APB. I found out through SlotForum that; worn or ragged braids can cause excessive sparking that can confuse things; that dust on the sensors in the track can cause intermittent issues; and that treating braids and rails with Inox MX3 lubricant can improve things considerably in the "clean signal" department.

I did all 3 and have had completely faultless running ever since. Inox MX3 is NOT THE SAME as WD40 or 3-in-1 oil because Inox contains lanolin. This makes the lubricant stay where it is applied for months and, although the manufacturer says it is non-conductive, you could have fooled me because it is amazing stuff and greatly improves car speed and APB reliability.

Although my suggestions may not completely address your lap counting issues they are worth doing as it eliminates a few sources of electrical interference AND makes the cars go better.

Finally - we all know the LED needs to line up with the sensors in order to activate them. However distance of the LED from the sensor in terms of HEIGHT is also an issue. Check your LEDs are clean and that your car's ride height is not too high. With DPR plugs all you can do is make sure the car sits with the guide as deep in the slot as it can go. If it sits a bit high then investigate whether you can adjust the front axle height to lower the guide into the slot. With cars chipped with the in-car chip (not DPR) this can be a real issue with cars with high ground clearance. ALSO make sure there is no rise in the track before the sensors - if the cars are getting a little upwards "nudge" as they travel at speed over the sensor they may be rising partially out of the slot which puts the LED further away from the sensor. THIS is why somebody earlier suggested you put the sensor track in the braking zone - in the accelerating zone with grippy tyres you will raise the nose of the car, in the braking zone you are planting the nose more firmly into the slot.

Try all this and if it still fails to cure your problems let Andy know!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
788 Posts
"Counter / 7042 is placed after a standard quarter curve, in front of a 180 degrees one, so we're not going THAT fast, there."

This could be the problem. If you allow two standard straights before lapcounter, which should be placed just before a curve, you will probably get rid of most of th emissing laps.

Ivan K
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
QUOTE (Gysse @ 30 Jan 2012, 10:57) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>"Counter / 7042 is placed after a standard quarter curve, in front of a 180 degrees one, so we're not going THAT fast, there."

This could be the problem. If you allow two standard straights before lapcounter, which should be placed just before a curve, you will probably get rid of most of th emissing laps.

Ivan K

I changed the layout... Even the car cross slowly the sensor, there is no record of it...

I believe the problem is the sensor id of the track in bp6, because I have no problem with xlc (this uses id sensor too, right ?).

Is possible to make some adjustment / repair of components (sensors id) ? Where to buy ?

I contacted the support of hornby, but I do not know if support will cover the issue, since I am a consumer of Brazil.

Note: I set track time on "yellow flag menu" to 1 second (default is 0 (zero))... the normal lap time is ~3 seconds.

Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,689 Posts
No, LC's do nothing with the ID. I have several cars which trigger LC, but occasionally miss a lap. Is It a DPR or custom job ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
QUOTE (Minardi @ 30 Jan 2012, 11:37) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>No, LC's do nothing with the ID. I have several cars which trigger LC, but occasionally miss a lap. Is It a DPR or custom job ?

DPR Cars... All provided on the set C1276... I, unlike you, occasionally count a lap on digital mode ;-)

Note: The sensors of XLC and PB look like the same type.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Thanks for all your help, first, Riko, Andrew, Mr Modifier and all the others! Great forum - such quick responses ...

Cars are somewhat fresh (3 days of usage), out of the box of the Digital Platinum set. All driven in digital mode, because that's what we wanted (kind of technicophil, we are, yes ;-)).

In the evening, I will ...
- look up the braids,
- check for any dust and stuff on sensors and so on,
- clean the tracks with - OK, I only have WD-40, here, but for the moment, it will work, if it will be of any help.
- put the C7042 in different location(s), as well, to check whether this may be of any influence.
- check the value for max. lap time

Will tell late / tomorrow whether it helped.

@Gysse and others: Why could 45 degrees curve before and 180 degrees curve after the 7042 be worse than (as recommended by Gysse) two straight lanes? Would think that too much speed could even make it worse, than better?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,109 Posts
The sensor in the powerbase can't see around corners - if the powerbase is preceded by straights then it gets a better look to see the frequency. Also the LED is straight over the slot, when you are cornering it is not.

I liked the smell gasoline comment
you are so right!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Thanks for the ideas,

-Both minimum lap times are set to really low values.

-The track has been cleaned using inox and is dust free.

-There may be a rise in the track just before the APB as I have powertaps under the straight just before the APB, will change this.

-The APB is placed in a braking zone after 2 full straight sections of track (no slide).

-Will try lowering the sensors on the cars by fair means or foul.

I will test the track again tonight and post the results,

Thanks everyone

Andy P
 
1 - 20 of 198 Posts
Top