SlotForum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm new to this hobby, unless of course you count the Aurora set I had many many years ago. I live in the state of Maryland in the good ol' USA and recently purchased a Carrera GT Face Off Set. This includes a Porsche 911 (30915) and a Ford (30913). I added the pit lane to my set along with a few other tracks. Per the instructions and various YouTube videos, I programmed each car to a controller, the fuel tanks were programmed to full capacity. The fuel switch was set to "Real." I realized pretty quickly that the Ford flashed its [almost out of fuel] lights after 25 laps around my layout while the Porsche lights flashed at 50 laps. Needless to say, this confused the heck out of me. How can I do a fair race when one car has to hit the pit stop twice as often as the other. I was told by a Carrera rep that the brain is in the controller and not the car, so I reprogrammed the controllers to be reassigned to the other car thinking that the Ford would now do 50 laps and the Porsche 25. That did not happen. Next I flipped the fuel switch to the "On" position and re-tested both cars - no difference. Next I reprogrammed the fuel capacity, one car on the track at a time, to see if that would make a difference...No! On my next contact with Carrera, I was told that each car has a different fuel tank (size based on the real car) and that I could reduce the fuel capacity of the Porsche so it too would do 25 laps instead of 50. This still makes no sense to me, it seems like a band-aid solution. So now I'm even more confused than when this journey began. Why would the manufacturer put two cars in the same set with such a major disparity in fuel capacity? Also, if I were to buy additional cars, how do I know in advance the fuel capacity of that car? The Carrera rep also told me that in nearly 20 years on the job, he has never come across this issue before. Do I push to get a replacement car? C