SlotForum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought one of the Argos 'special' Carrera Le Mans kits along with a few other people on here I guess. I have only used the cars the track is still in the box. I am currently running on scalextric sport track 3 but have swapped out the poxy crossover corners.
Now I am a little new to all this so I have a few questions:

1a.b.c.d...) When compared to my other cars (std scalextric F1 + Ninco M3) the pickup seems really slow ? I guess this is the way it is geared ??? Does it go quicker on longer circuits ? Is there anything I can change ? or should I ?

2) The moveable magnet in the chassis drastically alters the cars handling. Don't suppose someone could briefly explain why this happens ?

Now the second I finish sorting out the flooring in the loft my kit has a permanent home
and the track WILL be growing (although the mrs doesn't know yet
) So should I leave the cars as they are or should I take it back to Argos any buy another Ninco/Fly/SCX car ?????

Please excuse my naivety.......

Lee

·
Premium Member
5,685 Posts
Leef, welcome to the board. I can't really help you with definitive answers offer this.

Pick up? Maybe the Carrera power pack doesn't deliver much in the way of juice - I too bought the set but have thrown away the power pack and flogged the track and Audi since I only wanted the Bentley so I can't check what output it has.

Also, maybe the combined effect of the two magnets is sapping the motor, which could be on reduced rations (see above).

The idea of the movable mugnut is that it does just what you are finding: changes the car's handling characteristics; set up forward it is further from the rails, so has less effect; set back it is lower and has more of a pull. I've removed the rearmost magnet and depending upon how the car reacts to out bumpy track may remove the other one too.

Thirty notes for two cars is pretty good value. I'd stick.

·
Registered