SlotForum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Allan Wakefield
5,857 Posts
One of the best Bond films ever has become the topic of the latest releases from Carrera. This time in the shape of the 'Goldfinger' set.

1964 saw the release of this film and it is still one of THE all time favorites for alot of people.

The two cars in the, what was then still relatively early days for this type of film sequence, inevitable chase scenes were the Aston Martin DB5 and a 1965 Ford Mustang convertible.

I saw the two cars from this set up for sale on Ebay here in Switzerland, won them and it turns out the guy lives close to me and is just getting back into slots.

Yes I sent an invite to Swiss Race Bahn

Anyway they arrived this week and as I studied them I was hit by the contrast in quality. Chalk and Cheese came to mind.

The Mustang is typical of so many Carrera releases in that it somehow defies belief and looks like a toy.
(I have not found a satisfactory way to explain this, I KNOW it IS a toy but so many manufacturers manage to make their toys look realistic. Carrera often fail. look at the pics and see if you can get what I mean)
However, the Aston is again a top quality copy in miniature!

I say again because the last Aston Martin - the Vanquish - was also a top notch copy.

Why do they get one so good and the other so wrong looks wise?

I am not going to do a full review because the chassis is the same generic non entity as usual and so performance will be like any other recent (new chassis) Carrera release.
Instead I am simply going to post pics of a beautiful Aston Martin and a childish Mustang.

Come on Carrera - you let yourselves down again!

An all round 'Good Egg' ! The Driver is on the correct side and the cut of the mock Saville Row suit is millimetre perfect

Great detailing on the grille and notice the unobtrusive but amusing machine gun under each light...

Stunning detail on their tampo work, look at the DB5 logo to the right of the plate...