SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ive never done a proper full on scratch build but i rather like the look (and price) of some of the shells on offer from betta & classic. what are they like to work with? i was thinking of the grp or white plasticard to start with rather than lexan as i have plenty of experience with 1/24 static models .

·
Premium Member
1,780 Posts
I would say go for it! the glass fibre range are not up to the standards of the latest resin bodies but for a start and for the money would recommend one as a first step into scratch building. They can be made into very nice looking models, there's lots of builds on here that are works of art using these shells. I've built plasticard cars too and would recommend if you're do a saloon to buy a plasticard one and clear version for windows.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
that was the plan. just need to decide what to go for! stratos , mirafiori , grp5 celica....ooooh...decisions , decisions!

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
still mulling this one over..need to finish a few other projects first...but got to wondering what would be the best thickness of clear moulding to buy to use for the windows , both from the view of ease of fitting and finished look? i did think though , that if i were to but the heavier guage i could end up with some nice arches etc for other builds!

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
nice looking car! i have seen a few great looking single seaters that have been built from betta & classic shells but road/rally cars are more my thing. does anyone have any pics of completed saloons?

·
Premium Member
923 Posts
It might be worth pointing out that Betta Classic aren't resin as such. They are glassfibre.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
i am looking at the vac formed styrene ones....grp hold no terrors for me though...done quite a bit with it over the years.

·