Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2,671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pre-made scenery stuff made for modeling is great, but by using items not made for that purpose can often save you a huge amount of money. I have found many great ideas searching through the forum, but I thought it would be nice to have all these tips in one exciting local.

I'll start with a few examples I have found...

-Sunflower stalks for trees
-An electric flyswatter converted to a static grass tool
-Blue or Pink foam for landscaping

I am just a beginner, so I know that the scenery gods out there must have many, many more.

Looking forward to reading your ideas.

Heath

·
Premium Member
3,013 Posts
loads of "how to's" for scenery, but one of my favorites was from a guy who put spectator figures onto the bed of a scanner.
He then printed them onto matt paper, with part of the created shadow, and when cut out glued them onto foam board. Ideal for the furthest parts of your circuit, or inside at the windows of buildings.

·
Targa Freak
936 Posts
...Scratchbuild everything you can! It is a very great thing to use things of daily live (coffeestirrers, sandingpaper, cardboard...) or even waste for modelling. My gasstation and green shed both were build from waste and rests! They saved a lot of money that was completely used for new cars
!
Maybe I am a little bit freaky, but I tend to look for all things if they might be used in 1:32 even when I am out for a walk in the forests...

Regards Jens

·
Slot-A-Holic
5,504 Posts
Wow Jens in what forest did you find those cars

Great diorama.

Heath,

Pictures say more then a thousand words

i lost you on the blue and pink foam.

·
One petunia in a field of onions
6,455 Posts
Cheap is good. The money saved can usually go to better things. Most of my track was done on the cheap, including the table.

FRocks from recycled upholstery foam. They started their life as sofa cushions.