SlotForum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's a track i've almost finished. It's my 1st semi-permanent track so go easy on me. A bit of a cowboy job, I am a noob. I haven't got time now to continue working on it, but it's functioning as it is. It's on 3 boards, in a limited space at home in London. I originally wanted it on 2 boards, but Homebase/B&Q/etc didn't have my dimensions

The track is stored vertically on 3 boards against the wall when I'm finished with it.
It takes me about 25-35 minutes to set up and 15-20 minutes to put back in its place against the wall. It's not a great circuit, I wish it had a bigger variety of curves and chicanes, but it will do for now. I have only tried it out with 2 people racing, and it's fun and fast (without magnets). I may have to use magnets when I have 6 people racing, it could get very messy with cars drifting and clipping the car drifting the opposing way, but I'm not worried as my cars have already lost mirrors and scratches. Hopefully it's not that bad and that no magnets will be required.

One lane is 22.34meters and the other is 21.85meters.

Tell me what you think/suggest.

·
Premium Member
3,095 Posts
I think you did a GREAT geometric design of a track but as you said the drivers brains will get confused with cars going
nearby in opposite directions. One of the most important components of designing a track is that the driver immediately recognizes where he is on the track and what comes next.

For example it will be difficult, I think, for some one that is in one of the straights inside the loops to know where the curve linked to that straight starts so it will be difficult to know how much speed you can go and when to brake.