Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm just getting into Slot Cars. I got myself a scalextric track and some cars. I would like to get into this but i'm not sure about a few things.

Compatability :

1) What's the difference between Scalextric and SCX and Ninco etc?
2) Can they be used together?
3) Can any car be used on any track.
I believe only cars with magnets in them can be used on a scalextric!
4) What are Fly Cars?

Race Skills :

Is the only way to stop my cars flying off the track to get better at driving or is there any modeification i can make?

Think tahts it for now, thanks for your help!

-Niall

·
Registered
714 Posts
Hi Niall!

QUOTE 1) What's the difference between Scalextric and SCX and Ninco etc?
For almost all purposes, none - only small details that are down to personal preference. But, as you started with Scalextric, I would recommend not buying any other make of car until you are well used to what you already have.

QUOTE 2) Can they be used together?
Yes, they can, though running on older Scalextric track may involve a tiny bit of trimming of the guide blade depth from some none Salextric cars that have very slightly deeper blades. NOT necessary if you run on Scalextric Sport track that has a deeper slot.

QUOTE 3) Can any car be used on any track.
Yes, apart from comments above.
QUOTE I believe only cars with magnets in them can be used on a scalextric!
Not so! It's just easier to drive faster with magnets to help out.

QUOTE 4) What are Fly Cars?
Another make (Spanish) that will run with the others. Famous for excellent detail, rather high prices and (sometimes) questionable running quality without a bit of attention. Again, I would recommend sticking with your Scalextric for a while and stay in touch with us at Slot Forum for further advice. You'll learn a LOT by reading here and it''s CHEAPER too!

QUOTE Race Skills :