SlotForum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apoligise if this is wrong but im a newbie to slot forum sooo.
I have a large floor digital layout, comprising of both sport and classic track and nine cars.
Ive decided to enlarge it with pits extra wide straights etc.
I have some questions though

Firstly i know there is probally a topic somewhere about this but i couldnt find it, but how do you create power jumpers on a digital layout. Is it easy, and can it be created in such a way that it still allows me to constantly change my layout?

Also how long on averidge can a circuit be without needing power jumpers?

Can you run non scalextric digital cars ie ninco or carerra on a scaletric digital layout?

Ive noticed from some pics that users use a different power base (with a blue screen), i believe it maybe carrera? Could someone please elaborate and explain the advantages?

Also is there added complications in adding multiple lanes and a pit?

thanks benjamin

·
Greg Gaub
14,648 Posts
Welcome to SlotForum, Benjamin!
You've asked a variety of questions, and you'll probably have more after this, but here goes.

1) you can use the Scalextric brand power taps if you like. They're made for analog track, but work fine for digital. Just connect the spades to the tabs under the straight tracks. As with analog, it's important not to cross the polarity, so keep in mind which color goes to which rail respective to the direction of travel.

2) That depends on how bad the connectors are. Some people make rather large layouts without them, and some have small ones that need them. If you notice a power drop on your track, tighten the connectors to and from it. If that doesn't help, run a jumper to it.