SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Damien Straw
Joined
·
562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

A remember a few months ago there was a survey or poll here regarding the items we'd like to see added to the Scalextric range in the future. Has anyone ever heard anything hopeful since then? Is there a Scalextric representative on the forum who can tell us if there is anything in the pipeline, even if they can't tell us what it is?

It'd be nice to know if we have something to look forward to. I am wanting to make a start on my permanent track and it'd be good to know if anything came of that poll.

Cheers,
Damo.
 

·
Prof I T
Ting Tong
Joined
·
11,085 Posts
hi
there is a representive from Hornby that does visit these pages from time to time,his name is Adrian Norman.

Nothing came of the poll as far as i can remember,Scalextric is run by bean counters so i would not expect to see any new track pieces.

Instead of adding them they are deleting them,the clc sections only required a small mod to enable them to be run with analouge with the apb but this seemed to be to muck work and has now deleted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
I am sure that Adrian would be capable to do the mod to the CLC himself... so it would be interesting to know if they are going to adjust the manufacturing of them to work with both analogue and digital. If they want to simplify even further, they could make the CLC a 2-piece unit so that the racing line would be easier for us to do.

Adrian, would you comment please?

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
They are not making CLC's anymore??? Your joking? Why is that, have they come up with something else which is better?
 

·
Damien Straw
Joined
·
562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Aidan, yes they have stopped making it and no there isn't something else better, at least not yet. Members here have come up with something better however and it does seem a suprise that Scalextric don't seem interested in it. It's a piece that would totally transform the toyish racetrack (obviously I still love my toyish racetrack) into a serious scale model. Solely due to having a realistic racing line. I think the appeal would be huge and if it is sets that Scalextric is interested in selling, imagine the 'chicane' set and how cool it could be?
I wonder if another manufacturer could make compatible parts with licensing and so on? Maybe there is an opportunity there?

Cheers,
Damo.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's
Michael
I know that they are not DISTRIBUTING anymore CLCs (I got a reply directly from Scalextric on that) but my comment is whether or not they are retooling to "fix" the problem. As we know, anyone with a pair of scissors can make the CLCs analogue compatible.

So back I go to wondering if, given the new APB is becoming so popular, they might be retooling the CLC to avoid the Analogue/Digital problem for newbies. That would stop the complaints from new users who try to go analogue with a digital set.
I ask this since it is now MORE expensive if they have to include an XLC with every digital set to replace the former CLCs.

When I asked Scalextric they did not say it was scrubbed forever, just that it was not in the current catalogue.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's
Michael
I know that they are not DISTRIBUTING anymore CLCs (I got a reply directly from Scalextric on that) but my comment is whether or not they are retooling to "fix" the problem. As we know, anyone with a pair of scissors can make the CLCs analogue compatible.

So back I go to wondering if, given the new APB is becoming so popular, they might be retooling the CLC to avoid the Analogue/Digital problem for newbies. That would stop the complaints from new users who try to go analogue with a digital set.
I ask this since it is now MORE expensive if they have to include an XLC with every digital set to replace the former CLCs.

When I asked Scalextric they did not say it was scrubbed forever, just that it was not in the current catalogue.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's
Michael
Thanks, Michael,

I know that they are not DISTRIBUTING the CLCs anymore (I got a reply directly from Scalextric on that several months ago) but my comment is whether or not they are retooling to "fix" the problem. As we know, anyone with a pair of scissors can make the CLCs analogue compatible.

So back I go to wondering if, given that the APB is becoming so popular, they might be retooling the CLC to avoid the Analogue/Digital problem for newbies. That would stop the complaints from new users who try to go analogue with a digital set.

I ask this since it will be MORE expensive if they have to include an XLC with every digital set to replace the former CLCs (that is 2 XLCs where there was one CLC and one XLC before).

When I asked Scalextric they did not say it was scrubbed forever, just that it was not in the current catalogue.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's
Michael
Thanks, Michael,

I know that they are not DISTRIBUTING the CLCs anymore (I got a reply directly from Scalextric on that several months ago) but my comment is whether or not they are retooling to "fix" the problem. As we know, anyone with a pair of scissors can make the CLCs analogue compatible.

So back I go to wondering if, given that the APB is becoming so popular, they might be retooling the CLC to avoid the Analogue/Digital problem for newbies. That would stop the complaints from new users who try to go analogue with a digital set.

I ask this since it will be MORE expensive if they have to include an XLC with every digital set to replace the former CLCs (that is 2 XLCs where there was one CLC and one XLC before).

When I asked Scalextric they did not say it was scrubbed forever, just that it was not in the current catalogue.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's
Michael
Thanks, Michael,

I know that they are not DISTRIBUTING the CLCs anymore (I got a reply directly from Scalextric on that several months ago) but my comment is whether or not they are retooling to "fix" the problem. As we know, anyone with a pair of scissors can make the CLCs analogue compatible.

So back I go to wondering if, given that the APB is becoming so popular, they might be retooling the CLC to avoid the Analogue/Digital problem for newbies. That would stop the complaints from new users who try to go analogue with a digital set.

I ask this since it will be MORE expensive if they have to include an XLC with every digital set to replace the former CLCs (that is 2 XLCs where there was one CLC and one XLC before).

When I asked Scalextric they did not say it was scrubbed forever, just that it was not in the current catalogue.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's

Michael
Thanks, Michael,

I know that Scalextric is not DISTRIBUTING them (I got a reply from Scalextric saying that they were not in the current catalogue but not that they would not reintroduce them in the future). It just seems that with the introduction of the APB, and newbies trying to go analogue on a digital set, it was easier to withdraw the product to reduce the complaints they may be receiving.

However, I still wonder if they are retooling to "fix" the problem (and maybe the powered flipper?) for later reintroduction. We know that anyone who can handle a pair of scissors can fix the CLC to run analogue. So it is not a difficult change. Also, if all the digital sets which had one CLC and one XLC will have 2 XLCs that will be more expensive to sell. (I don't think they could sell a digital set with only one XLC compared to the competition).

Anyway, from the reply I had from Scaley, it is currently not available... but for how long?
Maybe Adrian will sort this out for us?

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
QUOTE (Michael363672 @ 31 Jul 2012, 14:06) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Sealevel .They are not making the CLC's anymore, so they won't be doing the mod or even 2 peice CLC's

Michael
Thanks, Michael,

I know that Scalextric is not DISTRIBUTING them (I got a reply from Scalextric saying that they were not in the current catalogue but not that they would not reintroduce them in the future). It just seems that with the introduction of the APB, and newbies trying to go analogue on a digital set, it was easier to withdraw the product to reduce the complaints they may be receiving.

However, I still wonder if they are retooling to "fix" the problem (and maybe the powered flipper?) for later reintroduction. We know that anyone who can handle a pair of scissors can fix the CLC to run analogue. So it is not a difficult change. Also, if all the digital sets which had one CLC and one XLC will have 2 XLCs that will be more expensive to sell. (I don't think they could sell a digital set with only one XLC compared to the competition).

Anyway, from the reply I had from Scaley, it is currently not available... but for how long?
Maybe Adrian will sort this out for us?

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
Sealevel, Could you please post that last reply one more time so we can call it an octo-post... Septi-post just doesn't have the same ring.


I saw that Slot.it is making a SSD chip module that fits into the existing lighting kit postion on Slot.it chassis. All of their new cars will have a hole for the Scaley diodes. Perhaps they are ramping up and will start making some digital pieces as well... and maybe ones with better racing lines.
 

·
Prof I T
Ting Tong
Joined
·
11,085 Posts
hi
wow i thought my internet connection was slow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,057 Posts
Sorry!

Every time I tried to post last night I lost the connection with a No DNS IP error. So I re-entered the forum and no posting was showing, so posted again to the same result. Then I could not log in to Slotforum at all.

Any explanation as to what was happening? This has happened several evenings (11 pm Pacific time and later) this week.

SO SORRY!


But did I make a point? (Did you notice that there were actually different posts, each with some duplicates?)

Cheers!
 

·
Prof I T
Ting Tong
Joined
·
11,085 Posts
hi
i have seen a few ips driver issues recently but put it down to carpy smaartphone.
 
1 - 20 of 32 Posts
Top