SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Greetings all!

I am humbled by the quality of work that is going into this 1960's F1 Proxy. All the work I have seen is amazing!!!

I am a total rookie at scratch building, the last thing I put together was a Tamiya 1/12 RC in 1979. I have never done anything more than de-mag, weight, glue, true and lube my slots.

However, I am undaunted and am now pleased to officially "launch" my own project in this 'challenge'. I'll use this thread for sharing and updates on my progress. It's like anything else in life, the more people you tell you are going to do something, the more likely you are actually going to complete it!

So here goes!

Car: Eagle Climax (AAR-001)
Race: Canadian Grand Prix, 1967
Driver: Al Pease
Team: Private Entry

1967 was the first Canadian Grand Prix. It was held at the legendary Mosport circuit, 80 miles outside of Toronto, my home. Canada was celebrating its Centennial that year and Al Pease, a veteran Canadian club racer, with the backing of Castrol Oil, made a deal to run the original Eagle Climax as a private entry in this innaugural Canadian GP. It was a rainy day at Mosport and he didn't get off the start line. After some frantic work to restore the electrical function, he eventually joined the field only to puttter around well off the pace and end up not classified. I was one year old at the time.

More if you want it: Al Pease Bio

But it's a Canadian driver in a legenday car and I figure to be the only one entering this model so what the heck...

Here's a couple of photo references:

Now down to the model!

First things first, I am concentrating on the Chasis.

The current plan is to adapt an HO slot car into the drive train/rear axle and mount this to a tube chasis / front end and guide!

I am going for light and nimble.

Slightly different than most approaches so far, but my Step 1 Test went well last night so I am going to continue down this path for now.