SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt of routing my own track. Of course I wanted it to be bigger, but my wife went all pale with my first plan, so I made a small track. Because of this I named it Excerpt Raceway, because it is a piece of what would have been my first track.
Track is routed and painted and I have started to make some attempts of scenery. A lot of work left, but it is fully working as it is now.

First parts of scenery.. a little blurred..

·
Peter Christie
1,835 Posts
nice...I have a similar track design..check my gallery. Nice curbs in pic7..cork?

·
Registered
144 Posts
I noticed you used the lexan strip and in one pic the router base from oldslotracer.com

I have ordered these, but wondered if you could comment on how you found them. Are they easy to use, and give the correct lane spacing when doing the routing?

·
Bill
2,888 Posts
With wives, you start slowly and hope they warm up to it. I found that my wife really got into the track when I started doing some scenery for it (well, ok, a lot of scenery). Then I got the okay to do a much bigger scenic track (and so on). I haven't mentioned the really large layout to her yet -- I figure I'll break her in in stages (4X8 then 6X12 then 8X16 until eventually the house is just one large slot car course).

BTW, that's a very nice first track!
Great curbs, how did you do those?

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
QUOTE (nitro @ 15 May 2006, 15:39) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>nice...I have a similar track design..check my gallery. Nice curbs in pic7..cork?

Nope it isn't cork. It is a piece of particleboard that was just lying around. I jigsawed it first and then routed it with a 9.5mm bit. Drew the stripes with a pen after I'd painted it gray. Then some PVA glue on top and sprinkled it with coloured sawdust to get the grass.