SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well here I go, this is my first attempt at a scratch build slot car. Please go easy on me and do point out if there is anything I have stupidly not thought about.
I've done a fair bit of modeling in the past with a lot of Warhammer40k painting and customising, so I'm not a total novice with this sort of stuff.

I've ordered
an Arii Supra static kit which is currently in transit from OZ.

I've already got
a PCS 32 chassis kit from www.pendleslotracing.co.uk
Inc:
guide blade + wires
18,000 Mabuchi S motor
5 spoke chrome wheels

This little lot

Still to sort out
Paint / varnish
Graphics - i'll be ordering handy art paper to print my own graphics.
Possible new set of wheels

So far I've put the Chassis bits together, not soldered yet as you can see.

Now I have a couple of questions.

In several picture of other cars I've seen there is some sort of resistor attached to the motor is this essential, do I have to get one of these before connecting the power cables to the motor?

The wire from the guide blade isn't actually long enough to reach the motor.
I'm thinking is would be easiest just to get some new wire and run longer wires from the blade. does this sound reasonable or would ti be better to add wire to whats there?

I'll post more pics as it comes together.

Any advice would be greatly received.

·
Circuit Owner
5,891 Posts
The resistor you asked about is actually called the "ferrite man" and is a capacitor and ferrite core designed to clean electrical signal "noise" (interference feedback caused by the motor) into the track. This makes no difference whatsoever with analogue so, as Julian says, it is not needed.