SlotForum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My son and I have been using a Scalextric analog setup for a few years and we decided to go digital. We are sticking with Scalextric because it just seems the most practical at this point. I've purchased a digital set (http://www.shopatron.com/products/pr....0.0.0.0?pp=8&) to get started (read "father's day present" here). It comes up short (e.g., only 4 car power base), but it was all we could afford right now. We got it at a good price. We have a fair amount of track to add to it. I also purchased a couple controllers that came with high impact cars, as well as a couple of chips to upgrade existing cars. My son will also get a digital timer for his b-day.

Any advice on setting it up? Anything significantly different than analog set-up?

Right now we have a 4' x 8' table. I know it is not really ideal, but it is all we have space for. Added some "fencing" around the table and indoor-outdoor carpeting.

Thanks
Philip

·
Greg Gaub
14,651 Posts
Philip,

Don't waste money on the digital timer. Put that toward the 6 car powerbase. You can use the power supply that came with your 4 car base, and it will still work better than the 4 car base! Everything and more than the timer is in the 6 car base. It really is worth every penny, though it seems expensive. Trust me, where the 4 car base is a dull and witless piece of garbage, the 6 car base is a shiny pearl of everything that is good about digital racing.

Other than that, you'll be fine. Learn about crimping the connectors for good continuity. Pick up a bottle of INOX MX3 for good conductivity from the rail to the cars, and enjoy your track.