SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At my club we have an open class race (any car, and all modifications are permitted), and I'm not sure what car I should use for this.
The track is Scalextric sport, and is a good mix of turns and straights.
I'm new to this hobby, and since we race by crash and burn rules, handling is more important for me than speed.

From what I've seen so far the Scalextric Mustang is my favorite (non-sport version with added button magnet in front). I've got a Fly Viper also, but the Mustang seems far more stuck down.

I'd like to race the Viper, since others are also racing Mustangs. Are there any easy tweaks I can do to it to make it stick better?

How does the Slot-It Porsche perform? Most likely I'll order one of these soon. I'm thinking of fitting the reverse motor mount, magnetic suspension and a stronger magnet to it (or maybe an additional magnet). Surely that should be able to beat the Mustang..?

·
Matt Tucker
3,561 Posts
If you are allowed magnets I'd be suprised if many RTR cars are able to beat a Fly Viper even in its stock form. Grah01 had a good modification for the Viper that provided more magnetic downforce on the side that needed it rond a corner.

Just ensure you glue everything in nice and tight and run the motor in well and the gears in before using it in anger.

If it is really unlimited then add more magnet and a scaleauto 35k motor (cheap and so if it burns up cause its having to work so hard you won't mind) and order a neck masage for the next day to get rid of the whiplash you'll suffer tryng to watch the thing go round. however if you push it too far if will fly!
Matt

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
From what I've understood there are no limitations in the class (I've never raced in it before, so I'm not 100% sure). Magnets are definately allowed.