SlotForum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there,

I am a total newbie with regards to Slotcars. As such I have a lot of questions and hope I have found a good place to learn.

Like most over the years I have always looked at Scalectrix, however finally with the pushing of 1 of my sons we got a set through argos a couple of weeks ago.

Looking to expand this set I got a Subaru Rally set via eBay for £5 at the weekend. However this set needs some attaention and this is where I need the help of others. The track (classic) needs a bit of a cleaning and having looked online I have seen a variety of products (such as Pleby), My question is what do you recomend to use ?

I have changed the pickups on the 2 cars in the set and wondered if there is any other recomended general maintenance to be done on them ?

I am looking for more track on eBay and hope to get some by this coming weekend. I am also looking at cars on there but keep seeing things like wing mirrors missing - are these important to the running of the cars ?

Living in Alton, Hampshire I see there are a couple of local clubs which I am thinking of contacting with a view to joining, but i think this might not be too popular with my son as he is ony 10 so might not be able to attend meetings with me. Are there any local junior slotcar clubs ?

Living in Alton explains part of my handle here - The "Bee" bit comes from supporting Brentford.......

I think thats enough for now....

·
Prof I T
Ting Tong
11,085 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum.

The pleby track cleaner kit is excellent,think of it as more a restoration product than just a cleaner.As long as the braids are neat and tidy and the car runs A-ok just run them unless you want to start tuning them.

As far as mirrors and other body parts going missing it wont make any difference to the running of the cars it,s purely asthetics.