SlotForum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to slot car racing and i'm looking to get involved. I've always liked them but I never had one as a kid. Most of my mates had them,but they were the crappy $20 jobs and I think we spent more time trying to get the cars to go than we did actually racing.

Anyway,I went down to my local model shop (www.acornmodels.co.nz) and asked the guy for a bit of info. He said Scalextric or SCX was the best way to go. They had a nice Rally Australia set that I was pretty keen on,so I said i'll think about it and come back later.

So now i'm here and I have a few questions:

1)What do you guys think is the best way to go for a newbie who's looking to get into the "sport" and take things further in the future?

2)Can the F1 cars race on the Rally sets?

3)Is there anything else I should know?

Cheers guys and thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1,889 Posts
Welcome JQHNO!

I see no reason why F1 cars can't run on the rally set - unless there's some off road type track in there with lumps and bumps etc.?

You may want to see if there's a local club you can go to as well. Racing at home can be fun, but a club can give you opinions, advice and help, not to mention the social aspect. A bit like SLotForum really

Enjoy!

Mark.

·
Matt Tucker
3,549 Posts
Welcome to SF and the addictive world of slot cars.

What to buy - all tracks are good as you can race on them. However it is worth browsing the forums for opinions on diff track manafacturers.

The future - could be digital and if this floats your boat then again have a quick browse thur the forums and the resources section that review the SCx system and previewed the forthcoming Scalextric system.

Worth gathering as much info as possible before plunging but whatever you choose it will be good.