SlotForum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm Graham ( "GAK" ), Father of 3 boys - Granddad of 3 and Happily married
I'm a slot car enthusiast, have been since early 1970's. Used to have my own 6 lane circuit etc, until life & bills got in the way.
( will post a couple of pictures when i find them)

Looking to learn more about Routed tracks as I'm thinking of building one for me & my mates, if all goes well then set up a local club ( maybe )
I'm an ex carpenter & have the tools & know how (mostly) just need to read up, dimensions, plans & costs etc.

Any advice would be most welcome, as I've been looking at the oxygen system & its looks good...

If anyone is here from the old Ipswich club, I'd love to hear from you!

Best regards
Gak

·
Registered
578 Posts
Check out the BSCRA.org site under the tech heading. The Track section has a great guide to building a routed track by Chris Frost. I found it extremely helpful in routing my first track last year.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cheers Mickey,

Just had a quick look, that should keep me busy for a while ;)

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi Graham,

I'm in Ipswich and am happily spending some time with slot cars mostly from the 60s and 70s using old Airfix track in a spare bedroom

If you do get round to thinking about a club track, I would be interested and could give some time / help as I am retired.

My main interest is retro, but willing to be flexible.

Regards

Paul

·
re member
4,095 Posts
Welcome to the fold, Gak.

There are few of us who have built routed tracks.

Please ask questions, pose problems, post photos and enjoy yourself.

Regards

John

ps fellow grandfather here too

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi Paul & John, Sorry its taken me so long to reply,

Yes im still up for building a track, when this Covid thing is out the way.