SlotForum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
702 Posts
I've been asked to answer a few questions for a magazine article.

As I am still quite new to Slot cars I wondered if anyone could help with this question:

How has the scalextric industry evolved since the early days?

It needs to be a short paragraph (not too technical) and the end point (what it has evolved into for these purposes) is SSD (Digital Scalextric)

Also if you're up for it, another question:

Why do you think its appeal has lasted?

Any budding writers fancy helping out?

·
Registered
117 Posts
G'day ss67

Try googling "Scalextric history" and you'll get lots of info, including a wikipedia entry.
Last year I wrote a small piece for a promo brochure. You're welcome to use whatever bits of it you wish. (If you use chunks of it just let me know - I would just like to know about it if it happens) Here 'tis:

FAST, FUN AND BEAUTIFUL - SLOT CARS MAKE A DIGITAL COMEBACK

Slot cars are making a comeback! They were all the rage in the 1950's and 1960's, but took a "back seat" when radio control and computer games came along. Now they're back - cheap, fast, beautiful, fun and DIGITAL!

Some things haven't changed: you put the car on the track, you press your hand controller's trigger, the car goes fast, and you still have to remember to slow down for the corners. But some things have changed: now, there are up to six cars on the track instead of two, there's a mini-computer counting the laps and recording lap times, and there are places on the track where you can change lanes if you press the right button at the right time.

Slot cars make a great pastime for people who enjoy miniatures, like to tinker with technical stuff, enjoy being creative with track design and like having fun times with friends - including a bit of friendly competition.