SlotForum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
I just discovered the world of slot cars. Actually, my business partner did and sent me a link to a YouTube video of them--I was amazed! The original idea was that we'd setup the track for our customers at the shop to entertain themselves.

Oh, a little about me: I have 14 years experience working in technology, I also own a shop that specializes in building road racing and performance cars, and I am an amateur road racer myself. Thus digital slot cars appeals both to the racer and the geek in me.

I picked up a Scaley set off of CraigsList. It included over a dozen cars, 100' of classic and sport track, bridges, banked turns, lots of curbing, R1-R4 corners, 4 car digital PB, pit game, multiple XLC and CLC, multiple pit line pieces, and more! When we received the track, my business partner and I decided we should setup up a small oval track to test the system. Well, the small oval turned into a 65' track with multiple LCs, pit row, and elevation changes. We threw on a couple of cars and started racing. I had selected a Ferrari F430 challenge car. I placed in on the track, pulled the trigger, and swiftly sent the car flying off the track and across the room. It left the track with such force that the airfoil broke off. I just looked at my business partner, smiled, and said "well, they are fast, but it seems you have to drive them more like real cars. I guess I'll slow down for turn one this time." We spent the next several hours racing.

We had purchased the SSD set as a novelty. We thought it would just be something to entertain the customers, but we were hooked. My business partner just kept saying, "This is a lot more fun that it should be!" And he is right--who would think that a "toy" could provide so much racing fun for "grown up" men?