SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1,473 Posts
Hi guys I'm going to be entering kings Lynn and just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I'm new to slot car racing as only just joined Presto Park. Really looking forward to racing with you guys. Most classes I understand but need so help with the modified classes. What car types do I need? What gets modified?

Hope you guys can help

Thanks Lee

·
Registered
2,614 Posts
Hi Lee,

Welcome aboard. Looking forward to meeting you at the race.

I'll let Deane (Montoya1) explain the Mod rules for you as he is the rule writer.

You'll find that someone will generally have a car to loan you for any class if your own creations are struggling or for any other reason.

Cheers

Gareth

·
Registered
9,719 Posts
I have informed Clive to look out for you Lee, but he is up in Derby for the HO 24hr hour now, so he may not get in touch straight away. Keen as you are I would hold fire buying anything to race until you have touched base with him.

Briefly the afternoon classes break down as follows:

Nascar

There are a few modifications allowed in this class, in as such as they are allowed in the rules for all classes. Any solid rear axle for example. Cars tend to run pretty stock in the class, apart from the usual stuff like lapping in gears and tweaking pick-up shoes. The Life-Like T chassis tends to dominate this class, although the far more tunable Tomy AFX SG+ (now defunct) can win on tracks with long straights and in the right hands. You will need to bin the car's rear wheels and tyres, if somebody has an axle with this at King's Lynn they can show it to you, you will soon see why!

·
Registered
9,719 Posts
LMP1

Seasons run from Sept-June, and for the current season the LMPs are the newest class, and so far the most popular. In theory you can take your car from Open Wheel and use it again with a suitable body: