SlotForum banner

Lets make a 3D printable chassis ( a very basic guide to 3D design)

7K views 30 replies 5 participants last post by  Trevor Ford 
#1 ·
This is a guide to how I built my 3DP popsicle chassis. It's aimed at the complete beginner to 3D design and Windows 10 users (sorry Apple fans)

Wheel Tire Vehicle Car Automotive tire

This is to show that you don't need lots of drawing or CAD skills to be able to produce useful, but simple, designs for 3D printing and that you shouldn't be put of having a go.

When I bought my first 3D printer, I had no idea what I would do with it and treated the purchase more like buying an expansive man toy. I certainly had no thoughts about designing my own objects for printing, my drawing skills are still very basic and at the time I had no desire to learn to use a CAD program.

Over time I have printed a few things with the printer but never made full use of it. Over time the range of available slot car items that can be down loaded and printed has grown considerably and II started to down load any suitable chassis I could find and the odd body but I had the need for a simple chassis that would be adjustable in wheelbase and also width, I also wanted it to take any motor type and have adjustable mounting points. I have I have a few PCS and MRRC adjustable chassis that meet the first two requirements and even a few Revell Ladder chassis the meet the first one but none of these allow for the other options. While browsing the forum an article was posted that included a popsicle stick chassis and I realised that it should be possible to make a plastic printable version that would be fairly simple to adjust as required and meet all four of the above requirements.

So, let's build a simple chassis. First let me say that this is aimed at Windows 10 users as I don't know if any similar software is available for Apple users, although you should be able to do this using many of the free CAD software.