SlotForum banner

Lexan Body Repair

2K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  janj86 
#1 ·
Hi all. Long time lurker, just started posting recently.

I've raced modern 1/24 cars for about 4 years now and I am just getting into the vintage scene. I've picked up a few cars that have lexan bodies that are for the most part intact, with maybe one of two small (less than 1/4") tears in them. What are the popular methods for making a repair? For my regular race cars, I'd use a nylon packing tape, but considering that these bodies are 40 years old with 40 year old paint, I'm curious if there's a better way to fix the tears.

I did a seach on the topic and didn't see anything posted already, but if I missed something existing I'm sorry for the exta post.

Thanks ahead of time for any ideas.

See less See more
#3 ·
Morning Kazooracer, bigtone is right about this tape it is reinforced and i have been using this type for nearly 50 years and my anglia from 1968 is still with us due to this tape, the last lot i bought was from S,C,D Chas Keelings place in Bradford, try S,C,D Homepage on line and see his lists Cheers Keith.

#4 ·
I use the nylon strapping for the sides of the body where the pins go. it adds tremendous strength to the shell. I never knew they did self adhesive lexan. Ive got a few shells that need repairing and this sounds just the ticket, funny how you never stop learning. john

#5 ·
Kazoo,

The other thing is, are these shells really Lexan? Before 1970 or so, there's a chance they'd be in butyrate, a different material: that would apply to all the Lancer, Russkit and other clear bodies of the time.

For these bodies, if it's a clean split, I use either "crystal" clear, fast-setting epoxy, or Ambroid Pro-Weld. Lexan would probably need its own type of glue. And the self-adhesive strips sound good too - had never heard of these either.

Don

#6 ·
They're sold as 'body armour' from a few sites, Don. The Parma stuff is as good as any other.