SlotForum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I did a search on my question but it didn't turn up much replies, so I thought I'd post a new topic.

I'm quite new to this hobby and this forum, so it might have been said before, but what do you guys use for lubricating your crown wheels and gears with?

I am under the impression that "normal" lubricants like oil and stuff, used for automotive purposes, are petrol-based and would harm the plastic in the little cars?

CRC has some product called 'Silicone grease' that I have been thinking about. However, this comes on a spray can, and I would find it more appropriate if this type of grease came on a standard tin can or something. I don't know really.

What do you guys use?

/BB.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Hey Big Bear,
I use a soap-based bearing lube on my inlines(crown). I don't lube my sidewinders, just clean them. I found that the lube picked up too much dirt and slowed the car noticably. Bearings are lubed with LaBelle's for plastic. You are correct about petroleum on plastic (bad).

Slippin'and slidin'

·
Registered
4,634 Posts
for oiling, I use a synthetic oil which comes in a needle point dispenser. I don't know if the oil is particularly good, but at least I can dispense the right amount to the right places! I am not sure about the make of this one, but it looks pretty similar to one sold by SCX.

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
Pin point oiler.
Don't spray, like the other reply also answered.
It will make plastic go crazy, and make dirt stick.
If you got a pin point oiler, you can lube the car with anything you like, just dont lube to much.
If your bearings are sloppy, and you dont wanna change em, you can lube with some gel, if its a competitionsetup you have made, lube with thin oil.
I use siliconebased oil, and gel.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I use Shimano HypoSpitt lubricating oil which comes in a needle point dispenser.