SlotForum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Mabuchi motors used in these toys cars leaves quite a bit to be desired. However, since they are intended for toys I won't gripe too much
My Scalextrics white GT40 motor didn't keep its power for long so I tore it down and saw the brushes in the end bell were toast. I swapped in another variety of Mabuchi end bell and it failed lickety split. OK, I might have swapped in more powerful magnets and a bit hotter arm as well so I don't mind its failing so quickly since it really didn't do so well in stock form.

My question is, what are you doing about brushes in these little motors?

I can't be the only one that is pushing these little cars harder than the factory intended. Yes, I could swap in a different motor but I don't like to admit defeat that quickly. I want to make the stock stuff work. I don't have many parts since I'm a newbie to 1/32nd scale cars so I can't cobble together too much stuff, yet. However, I have torn down enough of this style motor to have some stronger motor magnets and a few different armatures. I know that ohms isn't perfect for telling you what an arm is capable of but I still use it as a guideline. I found the stock Scalextric arm in the GT40 was 5.4 ohms. I put in a 0.5 ohm arm and it screamed. So I swapped in the 0.5 ohm arm and stronger motor magnets in the stock can. Now I need an end bell that will hold up.