SlotForum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In my old D132 setup, I had a dedicated short pitlane for the pacecar. On my back straight, I had a second pitlane used for refueling. Careful placement of LC's would prevent the pacecar from entering the fueling station, while anyone could, if they chose, fuel behind the pacecar in the shorter pit. Can I repeat this configuration with my new control unit electronics?
 

·
Bruce Yingling
Joined
·
1,604 Posts
QUOTE (whiskey @ 6 Mar 2012, 23:25) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>In my old D132 setup, I had a dedicated short pitlane for the pacecar. On my back straight, I had a second pitlane used for refueling. Careful placement of LC's would prevent the pacecar from entering the fueling station, while anyone could, if they chose, fuel behind the pacecar in the shorter pit. Can I repeat this configuration with my new control unit electronics?

No problem. If anything, the CU gves you more flexibility. The pace car will not begin to change lanes and seek a pit bay until you press the pace car button a second time. For some reason, and for some people, the first trip out it acts like it did with a BB- rides a bit, then begins to change lanes until it reenters a pit. After that it acts as described: it won't change lanes until the pace car button is pressed a second time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
465 Posts
If I install multiple pit lanes with the new CU, do I need multiple pit-lane adapters each featuring the new sensor and paintjob?

Could I use one pitlane with the new adapter piece, and a second pitlane without it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
What is not clear to me is this:

If we have a two lane pit lane that includes multiple switches for pulling into and out of individual stalls, and we preceed the first switch with a refuling single lane section, can we refuel by stopping anywhere between the refuling section and the pit out? Or only on the single lane refuling section? If we need a refuling single lane section in each pit stall, it makes the lane too long!

Also, am I correct that using the refueling section allso full pit stop functionality when using the Narrow section "Y" switches in place of pit entries? An again on the whole pit lane or only on the refuling section?
 

·
Bruce Yingling
Joined
·
1,604 Posts
QUOTE (Nomad2Race @ 3 Sep 2012, 20:29) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>What is not clear to me is this....

On an 'old' pit, you can refuel anywhere between the pit entry and the pit exit. The track between the entry and exit is electronically isolated from the rest of the track, and the car chip senses this and refuels the car. You have to be careful to respect this 'electrical isolation' when designing a multi-bay pit, or cars will not refuel properly.

If you use the CU along with pit lane adapters (PLAs) to refuel, the refueling works differently. The CU handles the fuel level *NOT* the car chip. The car is able to refuel when it passes over the LED sensor on a PLA. The CU takes note, and marks the car as 'able to refuel'. If you squeeze the lane change button, the car will take on fuel. The car leaves refueling mode when 1/4 throttle (or more) is applied. It doesn't matter 'where' the car is. The car enters refueling mode when it passes over the sensor on a PLA (it must pass over one of these sensors to enter refueling mode), and it exits refueling mode when at least 1/4 throttle is applied. So each of your bays should have a PLA. Placing one at the beginning of the pit won't work, as cars will use more than 1/4 throttle to get to their particular bay- and when they use more than 1/4 throttle, they are unable to refuel.

I am unclear how this makes 'the pit lane too long', since each PLA is one single straight in length, and each pit bay must be at least that long too allow a moving car to park out of the flow of other traffic. My bays are actually each two straights long, as a single straight is just not quite long enough to park a car safely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
If you have one PLA, can two cars refuel simultaneously?
 

·
Bruce Yingling
Joined
·
1,604 Posts
QUOTE (whiskey @ 18 Nov 2012, 09:00) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>If you have one PLA, can two cars refuel simultaneously?

Yes, but as explained above- both cars must pass directly over a PLA sensor in order to enter refueling mode. Since more than 1/4 throttle will cause the car to exit refueling mode, it is difficult to have two cars pass over the same PLA sensor and park to refuel. Either the second car entering the pit will exceed the throttle limit before making it to the second pit bay- or it will run right into the first car...
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top