SlotForum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
I've had this Mac Pinches' 1949 Talbot Lago resin shell for a while now with no idea what kind of chassis I was going to put underneath. I have ZERO scratchbuilding experience, so I was really wondering what I was going to do.

Ever since I saw Al Penrose's (Mr. BWA) popsicle stick chassis, I knew I wanted to try it myself. Well, I finally got up the nerve to give it a go. Here's my work in progress and, yes, I just ran it tonight and it works!!

The chassis includes a micro-motor w/ 64pitch 11 tooth pinion I found at Electronic Goldmine (thanks for the tip EM), BWA wheels, and Sonic 64 pitch 32 tooth crown gear. The guide is still causing some grief, so I may switch to a Patto's trailing guide.

And, yeah, I realize I may be off on the wheelbase. How many inches are "scale" on this car?

This motor is small but has a lot of punch. Almost too much. The breaks are light, but tolerable. The chassis needs some weight or a small magnet. I can't wait to finish the shell. Mac does great work and is a nice guy too!

Sorry about the quality of the photos -- it's late.

Steve

·
Registered
1,426 Posts
Nice one Pasttime!!!

This looks very good!!! Keep up the good work and keep us posted!

I need a chassis for a 57 Bug... (i found one on 1/32) Maybe I'll try it with popsicle's too...

Greetz

Gunther

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
The Talbot Lago is one of my favourite cars (come to think of it I have a lot of favourite cars!) and this is definitely one on my "to do" list.

Great job so far Steve - look forward to seeing pictures of the finished car on your beautiful track

·
Al Schwartz
3,378 Posts
Looking very nice - glad you find the motor works well -

QUOTE This motor is small but has a lot of punch. Almost too much. The breaks are light, but tolerable.