SlotForum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to building and modifying, I was hoping someone can point me in the right direction. First off this is just for fun with me and my son. Im building a 1971 Nissan Skyline with a brass chassis, parma d16 9 tooth pinon gear and im going to install it as a sidewinder. I picked out bwa wheels and they run 1/8 axles, Im having difficult time finding a spur gear for 1/8 axles, i saw yhe for 1/24 cars put i was not sure if that will be the wrong diameter. Again im new to this so it might be a stupid question oh also the track is carrera

·
Registered
3,570 Posts
Parma make 1/8 bore spur gears in 48 pitch - they mesh nicely with the 9 tooth 48 pitch pinons that come with most Parma 16d motors.
They are normally used with an angle-winder motor position, that might be the easiest solution.
Parma's web site lists spurs up to 34t - I don't think that's big enough for a full sidewinder 16d unless you cut slot in the motor for axle clearance.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Can I mount the motor higher so the shaft is higher than the axle centerline, or lower. Also what is the best way to set the depth of the mesh, i have heard some use tissue paper to set the gap.

·
Tony
2,834 Posts
If you are going with a sidewinder you can pretty much mount the motor where you want to, but an angle winder has to be more or less mounted with the motor shaft at the same level as the axle. However Slot.It do make anglewinder gears that allow an offset. THe old adage about setting up gears is to put a *** paper between the pinion and gear push together and lock in place. Remove *** paper.

·
Registered
3,646 Posts