SlotForum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please help! I am new to all this. Just bought and created a Scalextric Set up - 40th birthday present to myself
and I have hit the wall with it

Basically, I can't get SSDC to work. It's all brand new stuff, and I bought a FTDI able from RikoRocket. I'm quite technical with computers, built many from scratch, so somewhat frustrated with what appears to be my COM port problem. I am 100% confident I have the correct COM port, as when I plug in the cable I get an additional COM Port (7) in device manager.
I am running Windows 7, Home Premium, 32Bit. I have NOT updated to .NET v4 yet.

Anyway, here goes with what I have done (step by step):

Power Up Laptop
Power on C7042 connected to PC (Red + Green lights on C7042 permanently Lit)
Start SSDC Software
C7042 Red Light Goes out (Green stays on) [But cars will not work - I believe they should?]
SSDC Screen Below:

Scalextric Problem Word Document

NOTE: GREEN and RED Indicators bottom left are always like that, regardless of what is on the C7042

Start Race: Murray Says "Go Go Go" - SSDC Software Freezes
Log File:
Error: No reponse
Write: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 80 AD
Error: N

COM7 Details from Device Manager:

Scalextric Problem Word Document

Many thanks in advance if you can help me solve my problem.

Philip

·
Registered
2,879 Posts
Hi

Whilst you're waiting for the SSDC programmer, awallace, to sort you out here's a couple of things to get out of the way:

From memory only the green light should be on in SSDC. Sounds like a data communication problem, so maybe Ftdi drivers or cable.

Did you plug in the cable before starting the powerbase? If not it can damage the cable. Also, have you tried reinstalling the Fdti drivers?

On the Riko cable (assuming it's the same as the RichG cable), when you start SSDC do the green and yellow LED lights come on (in addition to the red one which is always on)?