SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This past summer I made the decision to return to the world of slot cars (I had a Strombecker set in the 1960s), and purchased a couple of Carrera sets. It took a while to come up with a plan, and this was the final choice based on size.

I built a table and drove the track for a while to see if it would work. I then built some ramps to support the track where it would be elevated.

It took a while while I decided what to do about borders. I finally decided to go with the Carrera ones. After much reading, both here and on other sights, I applied a coat of primer (CIL Smart3) and a couple coats of River Rock paint and a totally different look appeared.

I was really anxious about attempting to landscape the track-both because I have never done anything like that before, and because of all the outstanding examples on this board. I got a copy of Dave Frary's book and decided to have a go. What you see is 4 weekends of work! Maybe I should have described my progress as "glacial" rather than simply slow.

I have tried to follow the lead of some of you, and am trying to keep the guard rail to a minimum, although I know I will be needing quite a bit where the track goes up through the "S" and along the elevated section.
Any hints or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Doug

·
Brad Korando / Brad Korando
1,089 Posts
Your track is looking good Doug. Nice work on both the table and the overpass. I recommend replacing the power supply with a variable voltage aftermarket unit and upgrading the controllers as well. You may find that you don't need much in the way of guardrails with these upgrades and by also removing the magnets from your cars. You're building the scenery elevations up around the track which should keep the cars on the table nicely. Keep us posted on your progress!

Brad

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Doug,