SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

A few days ago I started painting my MRRC slot-figures...
It went quite well, I thought it the result would be worse... (i'n not the fine painter you know)

Now I want to paint my metal SRA figures... but I don't now what to do for starters... I washed my platic figures in a bath with quite a lot of (don't know the exact word) dishwash-product to degrease them and so... i read it was good to do that... but now... i don't know with what I must prepare the metal figures for painting...

I searched the forum about this topic, but I didn't find the answer to my question. I read that SRA would make an "How to" on their site... but it isn't there yet.

Can you guys help me?

Greetz

Gunther

·
Allan Wakefield
5,857 Posts
I trim away the excess mold lines with a scalpel or similar, scrub them well with cheap powdery white toothpaste and the wife's toothbrush, wash off in warm water and leave to dry somewhere warm (NOT the oven
even Porsche 956s don't like to be dried in the oven ehh Maurizio?
)

Following that I give them a light but thorough spray with acrylic undercoat, let dry and paint the rest by hand to get the base colours. When this is done I use an ink colour wash in darker shades (to give creases to clothes for instance) and again leave to dry.
Next comes a dry brush with lighter shades of colour and finally a matt (or satin depending on finish required) acrylic laquer.

Simple as that

PS: I use almost exclusively those Dungeons and Dragons (Warhammer?) acrylic colours from Games Workshop, they do a great range and the colours mix well for the price.

PPS: I also remove those horrid slab bases but that is just me being fussy I guess and it takes alot of time

·
Gregory Petrolati
1,022 Posts
Prep your metal figures the same way... Thourough degreasing is key for a good finish.