SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im just beginning to dip my toes into slotcar track design and scenery and Id appreciate some advice. Id like to give my scalextric track a bit more of a natural look and paint the track with a grey wash.
Providing I cleaned the track properly in advance, would my idea work??? Ive seen peeling can be an issue and I dont want the track to get slippery.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Greg Gaub
14,784 Posts
Yes, it works.

Clean the track with a solvent, even if it's just isopropyl alcohol, to make sure there are not greasy fingerprints on it. Then, use the absolute cheapest, most bottom shelf interior latex emulsion paint you can find. The cheaper, the better. Lean toward satin or matte. Sometimes you can score some cheap paint from the mistakes bin or shelf. As long as it's a passable shade of gray, you're good. Also look for greens and browns for painting landscape.

It doesn't take much paint, so usually a small pint/sample can is enough for a typical home slot car track.

Of course, mask the rails first. Using a roller makes it consistent, and gives a knap that can help with traction.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks a heap mate! Thats a massive help. Just a couple more questions if youd be so kind.
Does the paint need to be thinned down to a wash?
Also, is the paint acrylic or oil based? Sorry. Thats probably a dumb question. Thanks again!

·
Greg Gaub
14,784 Posts
No need to thin it. The kind of paint I'm recommending is latex... not sure that's either acrylic or oil. Just cheap interior house paint from the hardware store... not an art store. ;-)

·
Registered
153 Posts
I spray painted all my Ninco with acrylic grey primer - actually a brand giving lighter shade than the usual dark grey. I much prefer it to black track. The only issue is that some pieces can warp a little bit.

·
Premium Member
373 Posts