SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally operational. Major near cross country move and lost the huge space for my 4 lane analog layout, so I went 2 lane digital, now just have to learn to use the thing...

Here's the last plan of the layout before I tweaked things when actually setting the track, followed by some pics.

Regards,

-- Rakete --















 

·
David J
Joined
·
3,182 Posts
That's a downsize? Lucky you.
Really like what you've done, good mixture of fast and technical, looks like a fun track to use.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes sir - do a search on youtube for "scalextric woodview" to see the old one. I have an understanding wife


Thanks for the feedback!

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,726 Posts
That looks like a very interesting track. I would change only one thing, spread the start positions of the cars, at least 1 track piece in between, this would automaticly mean to move the PB to the left. Do you have pit pro or another option to count laps when pitting ?

PS some great cars you have, how does the corvette perform against the rest ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
QUOTE (Minardi @ 4 Dec 2011, 16:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>That looks like a very interesting track. I would change only one thing, spread the start positions of the cars, at least 1 track piece in between, this would automaticly mean to move the PB to the left. Do you have pit pro or another option to count laps when pitting ?

PS some great cars you have, how does the corvette perform against the rest ?

Thanks Minardi - You're right about the spacing, I went back and forth on that. I ended up singel spacing so to speak so people can stand around the last corner, the quarters are a little tight - I may try it though. Need to make some friends here in Newville so it can be tried out a little more practically. BTW - don't know what pit pro is, so I'm pretty sure I don't have it
All I have is the stock scaley powerbase.

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you Chip and Cjent1!!! I love the build process after its all powered up and stuff. Minardi - as of now, I'm yet to turn a lap with the Vette though I have chipped it. I need to put my raised barriers up before I attempt any serious laps. I must say I DO like the way the Vette looks (and I'm a BMW guy)!

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Circuit Owner
Joined
·
5,913 Posts
Nice track - an upsize for most I would think!

You will find a problem with lap counting - if you go through the pits your car won't cross the powerbase for that lap and so it won't be counted. Pit Pro in conjunction with the SSDC software allows for this and you can set the software options so that any car passing through the pits when the pits start before the powerbase but exit after it, will still get that lap counted. Pit pro will also allow you to use SSDC to set a pit lane speed limit - your pit lane is currently a convenient short cut around the track so a pit lane speed limit of, say 50%-65% power will take away the short cut option. Pit Pro also means you can use SSDC refuelling properly because you can limit refuelling to the pit lane.

Perhaps a visit to the Scalextric Sport Digital part of the SlotForum Digital forum would be worthwhile to explore your options.

This track is crying out for race software - I use SSDC but there are others. If you were to consider PitPro and SSDC (you will need a PC and cable) then your race experience would improve tenfold.

With PitPro there are a couple of options for sensors - the standard is one sensor in the pit lane game (that PitPro is based on). The standard sensor acts as a trigger to signal entry to the pits. There is an optional second sensor (which I bought) which signals when the car has exited the pits - this is essential for pit lane speed limiting. With long pit lanes you can ask RikoRocket (the SlotForum ID of the guy who makes PitPro) to make both sensors independent of the Pit Lane Game - this way you can sense pit entry right at the start of the pit lane, sense exit right at the end and place your Pit Lane Game display wherever you like within the pit lane.

Time to start saving up! (the whole lot - SSDC software, cable and PitPro with 2 independent sensors but NOT the PC - will cost under £150. I don't have a commercial interest in this by the way - I simply bought it and use it all and would never go back to the Scalextric LCD display.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
624 Posts
QUOTE (Mr Modifier @ 5 Dec 2011, 08:53) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Nice track - an upsize for most I would think!

You will find a problem with lap counting - if you go through the pits your car won't cross the powerbase for that lap and so it won't be counted. Pit Pro in conjunction with the SSDC software allows for this and you can set the software options so that any car passing through the pits when the pits start before the powerbase but exit after it, will still get that lap counted. Pit pro will also allow you to use SSDC to set a pit lane speed limit - your pit lane is currently a convenient short cut around the track so a pit lane speed limit of, say 50%-65% power will take away the short cut option. Pit Pro also means you can use SSDC refuelling properly because you can limit refuelling to the pit lane.

Perhaps a visit to the Scalextric Sport Digital part of the SlotForum Digital forum would be worthwhile to explore your options.

This track is crying out for race software - I use SSDC but there are others. If you were to consider PitPro and SSDC (you will need a PC and cable) then your race experience would improve tenfold.

With PitPro there are a couple of options for sensors - the standard is one sensor in the pit lane game (that PitPro is based on). The standard sensor acts as a trigger to signal entry to the pits. There is an optional second sensor (which I bought) which signals when the car has exited the pits - this is essential for pit lane speed limiting. With long pit lanes you can ask RikoRocket (the SlotForum ID of the guy who makes PitPro) to make both sensors independent of the Pit Lane Game - this way you can sense pit entry right at the start of the pit lane, sense exit right at the end and place your Pit Lane Game display wherever you like within the pit lane.

Time to start saving up! (the whole lot - SSDC software, cable and PitPro with 2 independent sensors but NOT the PC - will cost under £150. I don't have a commercial interest in this by the way - I simply bought it and use it all and would never go back to the Scalextric LCD display.

again i agree with the great comments and help...

i'm just writing to add that you should consider putting the barriers further away from the track unlike the conventional Scalextric barriers, enough so that if a car comes off the circuit, it won't rest against the barrier and blocking one of the lanes. I had this problem racing endurance cars, someone would come off, get stuck against the barrier and a massive pile up would proceed and some cars would get damaged.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks Mr. Modifier and Chip - Sounds like something to look into once I get a little further down the path. Don't have anyone to race with yet since I've just been here a couple of months - will definitely get more sophisticated. Want to make some more scenery progress. When I was analog I had the 4 lane carlson sensor track and PC lap timing software and alot more friends to race with!!! I'm reasonably happy with the progress I've made thus far, but it will be a journey for me! You guys have some great insights and I am truly grateful.

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE (Minardi @ 4 Dec 2011, 16:28) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>That looks like a very interesting track. I would change only one thing, spread the start positions of the cars, at least 1 track piece in between, this would automaticly mean to move the PB to the left. Do you have pit pro or another option to count laps when pitting ?

PS some great cars you have, how does the corvette perform against the rest ?

Finally got to turning some laps with the Vette - nice car, but a little slippy. The traction magnet on the bottom is fully enclosed ala the new Carreras so I think its either a little less efficient or the ride height is higher or its just a weaker mag. That said, it seems to run very similarly to my full detailed Audi R8 and Gulf Aston Martin DBR9. Add in a Ferrari F430 and it should be all down to the driver.

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Here's the latest pics of my track. Lots more to do, but little by little it comes together...

Regards,

-- Rakete --

















 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Thanks guys,

Maybe one day I'll actually get some company to come race with me. Everyone in the family seems to have made new friends here except me. So, thus far its only been me and my son on the track or him with his friends. Thats ok, though, I tend to work too much anyways.

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
55 Posts
Hi Rakete

Love the track mate very nice indeed, I am going digital as well with A1GP cars just need USA then got them all, been out of the hobby for ages and have just come back to it. Wish you were near Sydney Australia mate because like Buzz Lightyear and Woody say "you got a friend in me!" now when do we race
.

Brett
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Appreciate it, man. Will stop by next time I'm in Sydney - you're welcome here in Ponte Vedra also!

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Latest pics - no cars in it, but I've been a little busy












Let me know what you think...

Regards,

-- Rakete --
 
1 - 20 of 71 Posts
Top