SlotForum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As ever the quest for the ultimate race (which does not exist) continues.

Last nights efforts were to look at the effect of power level on lap times. The test track was extreemly small by some standards (APB R2R,4R2L, 3/1/3 St, 4R1L, R2L,R2R , about 2 3/4 St). Full power 962 Scaley about 3 sec. Full power Slot.it 956 2.4 sec. As pace car time is about 3.7 sec (RI makes for slow pace car). Power can be dropped (using driver function) to 60% and times drop only to about 2.5 sec. Of interest was that at the lower poer settings the car ran out of fuel much quicker than on full power. What does this tell us?

Clearly fuel burn is a fuction of trigger angle and hence at the low powers the fuel burn is higher as the trigger is at full power for much longer.
At the low powers the acceleration was slower, could be put on earlier with no wheel spin. i.e I am a lousy driver as I don't control the traction well enough.
Dropping power on the same car/tyre type is not a good differntiator on lap time on small tracks where power is not an issue.
Dropping to a scaley motor on slot.t was a good idea fo my small technical tracks.

hope this is of interest. PS this is unlikely to be fully applicable to large wide radii tracks where peak speed is critical on long straights.

·
Greg Gaub
14,966 Posts
My experience has been the same. Low power on short and/or technical tracks is an advantage. It makes the cars easier to control and you never really need the high speed that higher power levels give the car. High power and/or faster motors make sense on long/large tracks with lots of long straights and very few tight or technical turns. Thus, the car can be brought up to high speed often without having to brake too hard for turns. This is why there's no perfect car for all tracks. Cars designed or tuned to work well on technical tracks will suffer on speed tracks, and vice versa.