Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am seeking advise i've purchased second hand classic track, i've temp. set it up to test the track, some part of the track is not working you have to physically nudge the car then it moves and then it stops.
I've swapped and changes the tracks pieces and is causing the same issues any suggestions will be highly appreciated.

·
slotfreak
320 Posts
Im no expert but I would probably put copper tape over it ,or you could use that enoxa stuff lots of people talks about . another way is with jumpers under the track to help power flow or finally you can switch to routed wood.

·
Registered
116 Posts
I've had this problem before and it's very frustrating, especially when you replace sections of the track and you're still getting the same results. I would suggest looking at two specific areas of your track to pinpoint the problem: The section where the cars initially slow down and exact point where they pick up speed again. Perhaps a good cleaning or sanding of the rails is in order. You don't say what type of track it is, but sometimes oxidation builds up on the tips of the rails where the sections actually connect to each other.

·
Prof I T
Ting Tong
11,085 Posts
Hi
first off make sure the braids are in good condition.Then lift the rear of the car up and apply power and move the car from side to side,it should maintain power throughout the arc,if there is any drop off in power this indicates a break in the wires.

If the above all checks out then it is track based problem.Give it a wipe over with a rag damped in WD40 and see how you go.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Power leads off these track sections to a MAIN BUS Line is something you will eventually want to do anyways, Might as well do it now.