SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newb to Scalextric Digital so I'm thinking of getting the QOS Digital Set and see it comes with a 4 car power base. I've read that some people have had issues with this power base. I only plan on racing 4 max, but will it give me problems? I'm also looking to get the extension track C8514, but will I need another power base if I'm adding more track?

·
Greg Gaub
14,648 Posts
You won't want to run more than 3 cars with the 4 car base, at least not with magnets. The power delivery on the 4 car base is pretty bad. The same power supply powering the new 6 car base will do better. If you go magless, you'll need to add borders all over the place, but power interaction won't be nearly as noticeable. You can NOT simply add another power supply or power base. For Digital, you have to replace the base itself with more that is more capable. In this case, the C7042 6 car base.

Now, if you're electrically gifted, you can perform a Master/Slave mod with two 4 car bases. This basically makes one base control the output of another as well as itself, doubling the available power. But, it's a complex mod, and not something to take lightly, or think that you can just plug them up and have them work. Even then, you don't really add anything for all that work, just more power to go around.

Personally, I say, buy that set. Play with it. If you REALLY like digital slot car racing, the next purchase should be the C7042 base. You'll already have everything you need to make it work, but it will add so much more to the game of slot racing, even without more track and cars and such, that it's worth every penny. After that, you'll be expanding your track and buying cars with the best of us. ;-)

·
Registered
2,036 Posts
Although you want to ony race 4 cars with the New APB you can run 2 pace cars as Traffic for you to race against

Plus the 4 car base would come in handy for IDing your 4 racing cars