SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
Stuart Walters
926 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i started this project in the begining of december as a complete newbie.........with the main intention of making a track with good looking scenery. after a couple of designs i made a track (analouge) and started work on the scenery..........then i found slot forum and put all works on hold
i had a bit of a rant on the sf+members welcome thread....so if you have seen some of this already i apologise for saying it all again...

to give you an idea this is the track i started with the intention of making it look good with scenery

After some heavy reading on slotforum i decided that this track was not cutting it
.........and i needed a serious re-think of my intentions with this project. this mainly came from this topic, and i would advise any newbies to give it a good read :

http://www.slotforum.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=21694

so now my thoughts were: table too small, track rubbish and thoughtless to my new ambitions

i've played with loads of track designs taking in to account that i like le mans/gt/touring cars. i added temporalery a few extra feet in length

i also changed my attitude towards the project...................maraton....not a sprint
. i told myself 'theres no rush' and i'm really enjoying experimenting

heres a few scenery tests that i've done in between track layouts.......

polystyrene

expanding foam

building undercoat plaster (no grass, trees, bushes added to this yet)

after expanding my table from 8ftx4ft to 13ftx4ft pault86 (a member from slotforum) gave me this link for long slim track designs:

http://www.citizensoldier.org/layouts3x16.html

i really liked bonita park and moded it to fit my board
:

after setting this up and many, many test laps i wanted to add a bit more technical....after a bit of playing i came up with this:

i forgot to mention that i went digital just before trying these new tracks
its soooo much fun